Chipotle Honey Chicken and Lime Quinoa Bowl

Pinterest was good to me again last week!

I may need an intervention.  I know I’ve admitted this before.  I just can’t get enough of it. It truly is an amazing source for… ANYTHING!  It’s my main source for new and creative recipes.

I have a little confession.  Maybe you have the same problem I have.  I find things at the store, things that aren’t “regular” ingredients and I think to myself, “Self, you will USE this sometime soon!!!  You better get it!”  Then I get home, put it in the pantry and it stays there for months.  I look at it every now and again thinking, “Self, you DIDN’T use that like you said you would.”  Then I grab the “usual” thing I was looking for and close the pantry door.  Do you do that too?  Hopefully, I’m not alone in this.

I’ve had two cans of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce waiting very patiently on the back shelf for quite some time.  Thank goodness for a long shelf life!  I finally got to open up a can of them for the Neely chili, but I had quite a few left…  waiting.  Again.

Last week a friend pinned a recipe for Chipotle Honey Chicken with Lime Quinoa.

YES!!!!

A.) It was a use for the rest of those chipotle peppers.

B.) Something DIFFERENT to do with chicken.

and…

C.) QUINOA!!!!  I. LOVE. QUINOA!!!!!!

The recipe looked great, HEALTHY and simple.  I only modified a few things from the original version and it was fantastic!

If you missed the link above, here it is again.

Chicken bowl

So, here’s how I modified it…

For the chicken marinade I cut the oil in half and could have probably cut THAT in half as well.  I’m not sure why folks think we need so much oil to marinade our meat in.  It’s just unnecessary calories and mine turned out incredibly moist and didn’t stick.  I also added some lime juice because I’m crazy like that.  Honey and chipotles need a lime to make them happy.  Yes, I know I have lime in the quinoa, but who can have too much?  Right?  Then, I grilled my chicken instead of pan searing, because again, I’m crazy like that.

..and the quinoa…of course I left out the oil in it.  It doesn’t need it.  Period.

I didn’t have the fancy spring mix greens for my version.  My little grocery store was out.  DARN IT!  I LOVE spring mix greens.  …I settled for the less interesting iceberg lettuce.

…and then there’s the dressing.  I couldn’t just settle for honey and lime juice spritzed on my food.  I don’t do “spritzing”.  I. Like. Dressing.  I can’t give up a creamy dressing.  I just can’t.  If you can imagine, I looked through Pinterest a little further and found a LIGHT creamy chipotle dressing.

BINGO!!!  I could use the REST of my chipotles.  My day was getting so much better!

Creamy Chipotle Dressing

The ONLY thing I changed in this recipe was adding a touch of honey to balance the tartness of the yogurt.  PERFECTION!

I served mine with tomatoes, avocado, green onion and a little cheese.  Next time I think I’ll add a few black beans to the mix.

I would give you the skinny on this salad, but it’s kind of complicated.  I don’t feel like doing a calorie count on the actual ingredient list is accurate because MOST of the marinade is discarded…

In celebration of Spring’s arrival tomorrow I think you should plan this for supper tomorrow!!!  You won’t be sorry.  If you’re new to the world of quinoa this would be the PERFECT introduction!!!

Peace, love and happy pantries!!!

One thought on “Chipotle Honey Chicken and Lime Quinoa Bowl

Leave a Reply

