Lenten Resolutions

The season of Lent is one of those times of the year that we are all supposed to look inward at ourselves and reflect on those things that we would like to improve upon or change.

As a kid I always took the easy way out and tried to give up something simple like chocolate or pop.  Always the simplest of things that wouldn't end up "costing" me if I defaulted. 

This year I have done some soul searching.  I wanted to find something that would truly better me as a person and make my faith just a tad bit stronger.  I reflected on my strengths and weaknesses.  Most anyone who knows me would say that I'm a "tell it like it is" kind of gal.  If you want to know how I truly feel about something, just ask.  I will do my best to tactfully tell you the truth.  This I consider a strength.  "What is your weakness, Alisha?", you ask.  Well, when faced with a confrontation or conflict I tend to tuck my tail between my legs and run the other directions.  I HATE confrontation, I HATE conflict.  I like to see the world through rose colored glasses.  Who wouldn't.  I know this is my weakness, I know this is something I need to improve upon.  As everyone else in this world I have difficult relationships that need to be dealt with delicately. 

This is where my Lenten resolution comes in.  I resolve that for the next 40 days I will do my best to be honest and forthcoming in all my relationships, even the ones that cause my ulcer to flare and hair to fall out. 

(I really don't have one of those types of relationships, but if I did I'd deal with it the same way.)

So, rather than giving something petty up for Lent this year I am taking on a challenge.  I will keep you posted as to how this challenge pans out.

I hope you all find something to challenge yourself to in this season of reflection.

One thought on “Lenten Resolutions

  1. I admire your resolve to choose something that is hard for you. You’ll find blessings you might not even expect from taking this sincere approach.
    But I must ask, do you seriously think chocolate is easy to give up?

Leave a Reply

