Move Over Boring Bean Dip! Hello Cheesy Chickeny Deliciousness!!

If you remember I mentioned in one of my early posts that I come from a long line of Foodies.

My pedigree includes German, Irish Southern Oklahoma cuisune. (I know, odd combination. But it makes for an awesome range of recipes.)

When my mom's extended family gets together it's a smorgasborg of AMAZING dishes.

Our last gathering was over the Christmas holiday and I came away with a few new concoctions to add to my collection.

One of my favorites is courtesy of Aunt Shelly. I love Shelly. She's married to my Mom's brother and she is most famous for her Rock This World Cinnamon Rolls. She always jokes that she can't cook like the rest of her sisters-in-law, but I think she can definitely hold her own.

Shelly brought this AMAZING Cheesy Chicken Black Bean Dip.

3-6-10 006

When I first sank my teeth into this gooey glob of cheese, spinach, beans and chicken I knew this had to be SO fattening that my thighs were going to scream bloody murder. BUT… Shelly soon corrected me and informed me of how healthy this dish really is. To make it even healthier the creamed spinach can be substituted with regular spinach.

So, enjoy this delectable little treat. Your friends will soon be begging you bring it every gathering.

Cheesy Chiken Black Bean Dip

1 large can chicken, drained

1 pkg. Frozen creamed spinach, thawed (If using regular spinach, drain/squeeze all excess water from spinach)

1 16 oz. Pkg. Shredded Monterrey Jack cheese

1 can black beans rinsed and drained

1 large jar salsa

Mix all ingredients and place in shallow baking dish that fits in a microwave. Microwave on high in 5 minute intervals, stirring often, for 15 minutes or until meltef and smooth. Serve with tortilla chips.

Enjoy, my cheese loving friends!

Leave a Reply

