The Cheese Burglar Would Be Jealous

Last night I posted a message on Facebook as to what I was making for supper. I had several requests for the recipe so I thought I would share this sinful delight with everyone.

I can’t take credit for originality on this one. The applause must be given to my favorite Southern Belle, Paula Deen.

As you already know, I am a HUGE lover of meatloaf. It was and is my favorite childhood meal. The love runs deep through our blood as my son thanks me profusely every time I fix it.

So, you can imagine my excitement when I happened upon this recipe combining my first Foodie love, meatloaf, and the great All-American tradition, bacon cheese burgers. That’s right, my friends… Bacon Cheese Burger Meatloaf!

I will add a disclaimer to the health factor of this post. I do not recommend this on the weekly menu as your scales will begin to scream at you to get off if you do. I made my usual meatloaf balls and felt ridiculously guilty for eating the smallest one.

I hope you enjoy this as much as we do. And… I apologize for not having any photos of this one. I have faith your imagination will do just fine.

Bacon Cheese Burger Meatloaf
(I double the recipe for ample leftovers and freezing.)

1 lb. Ground beef
10 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
1 8 oz. Pkg grated cheddar cheese
2 large eggs beaten
1/4 c. Bread crumbs, toasted
1/4 c. Mayonnaise (not Miracle Whip!!!)
1 Tbsp. Worchestershire sauce
1/4 tsp. Salt
1/4 tsp. Pepper
1/3 c. Ketchup
2 Tbsp. Prepared mustard
1 3 oz. Can French fried onions

Prehear oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, combine the ground beef and the next 8 ingredients, mix well.

In a small bowl, combine the ketchup and mustard. Stir 1/4 c. Ketchup mixture into meat mixture. Reserve remaining ketchup mixture.

Press meat mixture into a 9 x 5 x 3-inch loaf pan, or shape into a loaf or large balls and place on a rack in a large baking dish. Spread remaining ketchup mixture over loaf or balls. Bake 40 minutes. Top with French fried onions, bake another 10 to 15 minutes or until meat is no longer pink.

I only put half the cheese in the loaf and put other half on top of the French fried onions for the last 15 minutes.

The loaf or balls will seem softer than a traditional loaf due to the ingredients.

Enjoy my Foodie friends!

Leave a Reply

