Foil Fowl

It has occurred to me after reviewing some of the recipes I have shared with you that they are leaning toward the heavy side of the scales. You are probably beginning to think that my poor family’s favorite food group is fat.

While we definitely enjoy a hearty helping of down home, comfort food goodness, I do try to make meals with the “health factor” in the front of my mind. I will admit that during the winter months we tend to nosh on the richer side of the calorie scale, but this is only to maintain our warmth.

So, with all of this in mind, I wanted to share with you one of my favorite guiltless little pleasures. I like to call it Foil Fowl, in honor on of my paternal grandfather, who we affectionately refer to as GrandPaul.

GrandPaul has been in the cattle business his entire life. It was the source for putting food on his table and clothing on his children’s backs. He had all of us wearing “Eat Beef” t-shirts before it was even cool to have an “Eat Beef” license tag on your car.

(I do realize that it still may only be cool to have one of these plates if you live in the middle of cattle country. So, if you’re not from this part of the world you’ll just have to trust me… It’s cool.)

Back to GrandPaul… Due to his background and livelihood being directly linked to the bovine species, chicken did NOT appear on our plates very often. GrandPaul has always referred to chicken as “foul” meat. He has always loved this play on words.

So, I have nicknamed this divine poultry creation Foil Fowl in honor of my GrandPaul.

I LOVE this recipe! Aside from it’s sheer ease in preparation it has to be one of the tastiest AND guiltless chicken recipes I’ve ever seen. It’s not often that tasty and guiltless can be used harmoniously in the same sentence.

Here you go!

Foil Fowl

4 chicken breasts
4 large potatoes, peeled and cubed (medium cubes)
1 1/3 c. Salsa (approx.)
1 pkt. Taco seasoning (I use the low sodium variety)
1 c. Shredded cheese (approx.)

Preheat oven to 350.

Tear off four good size pieces of foil for the packets, stack on top of each other. Spray the center with non-stick cooking spray. Place 1/4 of diced potatoes in the center of the foil. Add a chicken breast on top. Sprinkle chicken breast liberally with taco seasoning coating evenly. Layer the top with approximately 1/3 cup of salsa. Sprinkle with cheese, as much or as little as you like.

Fold top up and sides of foil together to seal the package tightly. Be sure to leave some wiggle room in there for the taters and chicken to do their thing.

Bake for 45 minutes to an hour depending on how large your chicken breasts are. Remove from oven, unwrap and DEVOUR!

I hope you love this one as much as we do. There’s just no way to foul up this fowl!
(I just crack myself up!)

Leave a Reply

