My apologies Heavenly Father, but Grace will be joining us…

4-1-10 059
When Grady and I got married I stressed the importance of raising our family in a church. We found a church family in our little community that suits us perfectly. Tucker has been an active member of this congregation since before he was born.

 I have always tried to instill in the boys a good relationship with God and the need for prayer. I was raised to pray silently to yourself and also at the supper table. Throughout my years living with my parents we always recited a scripted prayer before we ate. "Bless us, Oh Lord, and these, Thy gifts which we are about to receive from Thy bounty through Christ. Amen."

It's simple, it's to the point. It was tradition.

 As much as I hate to admit it my little family had not gotten in the habit of saying a prayer over our meals. So, you can imagine my surprise and joy when one day out of the blue Tucker came home announcing at supper, "Wait Mommy, we need to say our pray!" (No, I didn't misspell it.) I was so excited about his enthusiasm that I didn't even ask where this new idea of his came from.

And so the daily blessing over our meals began. It usually goes something like this… "Dear Heavenly Father, we thank you for the food you put before us. May it nourish our bodies and make us healthy. We thank you for the beautiful day and the opportunity to enjoy it. We ask your blessing on…" I encourage what I call free prayer, giving thanks and praise for whatever comes to your mind.

Tucker NEVER let's us forget that we need to pray. One evening I made the mistake of saying, "Okay, it's time to say grace."

 The next night things went like this.

Tucker: Mommy we need to say the pray.

Me: Okay, Tucker, are you going to say it?

Tucker: Nooo…, Mommy you do it.

Me: Alright… Dear Heavenly Father, we…

Tucker: NO MOMMY!!! You have to say GRACE!

Me: I am saying grace, please don't interrupt Mommy while I'm praying… Dear Heavenly Father…

Tucker: Nooooooo. You hab to say Graaaaaace, Mommy.

Me: Tucker, grace is another word for prayer.

Tucker: Say Graaaaace, Mommy.

Me: Alright, Tuck, why don't you say the prayer.

Tucker: Ooookay. Graaaaace we fank you for dis food. We weawy appweciate it. Amen.

Me: Thank you Tucker. (Trying not to giggle)

Obviously, there is some confusion as to 'what' grace is. He's still convinced Grace is a person related to Heavenly Father. We think it's pretty cute and entertaining. We have now graduated to including "Heavenly Father" back in the prayer, but Grace will still be included for quite some time I'm sure. I'm fairly certain our Heavenly Father has a great sense of humor and giggles right along with Grady and I every night at the supper table. I'm just thankful my son loves grace.

Leave a Reply

