Oatmeal Carmelitas


4-9-10 005

I know that I have told you that I'm NOT the baking type.  I just don't have the patience.  

Seriously,  you know that Grady has to go out of town for me to have time to get any major time consuming projects done.  So, of course I would never have time to make cookie dough and actually bake them. 

I haven't completely thrown desserts out the window though.  I have found a few simple recipes that are quick and satisfy that crazy chocolate addiction I seem to have.  Oatmeal carmelitas are one of those recipes.

My mom has been making this treat for years.  It's ALWAYS a crowd pleaser.  Ladies, if you and your main squeeze have a tif just make this treat and the war zone will clear.  (You think I'm kidding.  Grady can't resist these.)

Come on…. just look at all this caramel and chocolately gooieness.  How could anyone turn this down?

4-9-10 006 

Enjoy…

Oatmeal Carmelitas

1 1/3 c. flour

1 1/3 c. whole oats

1 c. brown sugar

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt (I omit because I use salted butter)

3/4 c. melted butter

1 c. chocolate chips

3/4 c. caramel ice cream topping + 3 tbsp. flour mixed well

Preheat oven to 350°. 

Mix first 5 ingredients well.  Add melted butter and stir until combined and crumbly.  Press 1/2 of the mixture into the bottom of a greased 9 x 13 baking dish.  Bake for 5 minutes. 

Remove from oven and layer chocolate chips and caramel mixture on top of baked crust.  Add the remaining crumb mixture evenly over the top and bake for 15 minutes or golden brown.

Let cool for 15 minutes and then gently go around the edges with a knife to loosen any caramel that may have baked to the sides.  Let cool completely and cut into squares and serve.

I hope al of you love this one as much as I do.

Peace, love and chocolate overdoses.

One thought on “Oatmeal Carmelitas

  1. She is not kidding these are one of my favorites too and I love that you usually have everything on hand to make them if you are in a pinch. -Stacie

Leave a Reply

