Burrito Supreme

I live in a community that has a moderate Hispanic population. As a result, we have some AMAZING "taco shacks" around here with burritos that will sing to your soul!.

I LOVE authentic Mexican food. I love the simplicity of their ingredients. I love that with a little effort I can recreate these burritos at home.

One of my favorite food tricks is to cook twice as much of something and reserve the extra for a later date.

Several weeks ago I had a hankering for pot roast. Since I'm a working mom I throw a roast in the crockpot with only onions, beef broth and seasoning and let it go on low all day. I don't add the potatoes or carrots because they would be mush by the time I got home.

Knowing that I wanted to try my hand at my own true beef burritos, "taco shack" style, I put TWO roasts into the crockpot that morning. What my family didn't eat for supper I shredded, removed the fat and put in a storage bag with 1/2 to 1 cup of the juices and froze it.

Last night, when we got home, I needed a fast meal. The first thing that came to mind were my burritos! I thawed the meat out in the microwave and then placed it all in a saucepan (with the juices) on the stove at medium to medium-high heat. I added a can of chopped green chiles, 2 tablespoons of chili powder, 1 tablespoon of cumin, 2 teaspoons of garlic powder and 2 teaspoons of onion salt and salt and pepper to taste. (All measurements are approximations as I rarely measure anything.) I let it get good and hot.

 5-10-10 001 
Doesn't that look AWESOME!!!!!

In the meantime I warmed up a can of fat free refried beans with a little water added to it.  I seasoned them up with cumin, garlic powder and onion salt.  Just season it to your liking.

Once everything was warm it was time to eat.  Simply build your burritos with whatever fillings you like.  Since we were short on time and "goodies" we were limited to sour cream, beans, meat, cheese and salsa.  But, let your imagination go wild!  Cook up some spanish rice, garnish with cilantro if you like.  The sky's the limit!!

THESE ROCK!!!!!!!!

Enjoy!!!!!

Please, love and burrito feasts!

Leave a Reply

