I’ve Died And Gone To Heaven

I swear I was Hispanic in a past life! My love, no, obsession, with Mexican food is just a tad on the ridiculous side. I could eat it every day!

Yesterday I knew I wanted to fix quesadillas for supper and only had to pick up tortillas at the store. I had leftover burrito meat and beans that needed eaten.

As I was driving home I was glancing through a magazine that the office had gotten by accident, Taste of Home. I'm sure most of you are familiar with it.

As I thumbed the pages fell open to one particular recipe. It was as if the clouds parted and the angels sang from the heavens! Homemade tortillas!!!! I couldn't believe it!

There were only four ingredients and I had all of them. Grady would be late getting home so I knew I had time to whip these out. I'm telling you, if I can do this, SO CAN YOU!

Here's what you need:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. Salt

1 cup water

3 5bsp. Olive oil

In a large bowl, combine flour and salt. Stir in water and oil with a fork. Turn out onto a well floured surface. Knead 5-6 times until stickiness is mostly gone.

 5-18-10 004 
Divide dough into 8 equal portions.

 5-18-10 002 
On a lightly floured surface, roll each portion into a 7-in. circle. (Don't worry if they're not perfectly round.)

 5-18-10 007 
Remember that awesome sangria I told you about? It goes perfectly with tortilla making!

 5-18-10 003 
In a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray, cook tortillas over medium heat for one minute on each side or until lightly browned. You will need to spray the pan for each tortilla.

 5-18-10 001 

I just love how rustic these look!!

 5-18-10 011 When you remove them from the pan fold them in half and then half again to make quarter rounds. They're easier to separate later this way. 

 Once you're done you can easily make your quesadillas in the same pan. Simple cover one tortilla with beans, meat and cheese (or anything you like). Place a second tortilla on top. Spread a small amount of butter on top and gently flip buttered side doown into the hot pan. While that side gets happy spread more butter on the other side. When the bottom is golden and crisp flip over. Again, cook until golden. When done remove it from the pan onto a large cutting board. Let it cool for a few minutes and then cut into quarters.

 5-18-10 012 
Garnish with salsa and sour cream and DEVOUR!!

WARNING!!!

This is not a meal that falls under the "low fat" category. Eat with caution.

Peace, love and happy tummies!

3 thoughts on “I’ve Died And Gone To Heaven

  1. looks amazing! you are so fancy! I had some of your spinach, black bean, cheese dip last night. it was my entire supper because i ate soooooo much of it!

  2. LOL!! Heidi, this cracks me up! You’d rethink the fancy comment if you actually saw me cooking these tortillas in my lounge shorts and mud boots covered from head to toe in flour.
    I’m so glad you liked the dip. That’s definitely one of my favorites!!

Leave a Reply

