Strict Momma

Some people would put me in the category of ‘strict’ parent. That’s okay. I’ll wear that badge proudly. I’m certainly not ashamed of the fact that I strive for goodness, respect and achievement for my kids.

I was a strict mom when it was time to wean Tucker from the bottle to regular milk. It took some time, but when that moment came we did it.

I was a strict mom when it was time to give up the binkie. I knew I didn’t want this to be something to affect his teeth or his speech. So, at a year old, the Binkie Fairy, came and gathered the last binkie.

I’m a strict mom about no hats on heads inside the house. Call me old fashioned, but I was raised that it’s disrespectful. It always looks as though you’re in a hurry to leave.

I’m a strict mom about table manners. Eat politely, elbows off the table and always be mindful of the feelings of who graciously made your meal.

I’m a strict mom when it comes to cleaning up after yourself. If you got it out, then it’s no one else’s responsibility to put it away. This one is hard to teach a three-year-old.

I’m a strict mom when it comes to respect. Speak nicely to your elders. They hold many years of wisdom and can teach many things if we simply listen. Above all, in order to receive respect from an adult you must first give it.

I know…

I’m old fashioned.

Some people try to tell me to lighten up.

But… these are the ‘strict’ rules I was raised with. As many times as I tried to disobey or push the envelope, I am thankful for those strict rules. I think I turned out to be a pretty well-rounded, ‘good’ person.

So, here’s to all of you Strict Mommas out there. Keep up the good work.

Peace, love and rules.

Leave a Reply

