Fireworks In My Mouth!

As most of you already know I am a HUGE fan of Pioneer Woman AND and huge fan of Mexican food. It's a toss up of which I love more.

Several months ago we had friends and family over for supper and my friend, Shelly, brought P-Dub's Restaurant Style Salsa. This stuff was out of this world! It tasted just like the stuff they bring to you in those cute little bowls with the warm, salty chips. I was in heaven.

Suffice it to say, I let my facination with this recipe die that night. I never looked it up and never pursued making it. Until…

Several weeks ago I was whipping together a thirty-minute meal which reqired a jar of salsa. This is a staple in our house. We ALWAYS have salsa. I went to the fridge and I had NONE! The dish was all but finished and I was not going back to the store. I remembered Shelly's salsa and thought to myself, "Self, you can recreate this! It can't be that hard!"

So without a recipe I started throwing stuff together and it turned out to be AMAZING! So amazing, in fact, that Grady wants a stock of this in the fridge at all times.

Here's what you need to do.

 6-22-10 03

2 cans diced tomatoes

1 large onion chunked

1 heaping tablespoon minced garlic

juice of 1/2 a lime

1 fresh jalapeno or 2 tablespoons pickled jalapenos

1 small handful cilantro

salt

 6-22-10 06 
Here's where your options come in. If you have an immersion blender like I do then you can dump all of this in a deep sided bowl and blend away.  If you don't have one of these lovely contraptions then simply use your blender or food processor.

Dump everything in the appropriate container and blend until smooth.  You can add more cilantro and jalapenos depending on your taste.  A word to the wise, start out with a small amount of both because you can always add more, but you can't take it out!!!  The first time I made this I used a little too much cilantro.  Grady and I LOVE cilantro, but it was just a little too heavy.

 6-22-10 10 
This is what the beautiful salsa looks like finished!  It's so amazing.  Definitely fireworks in my mouth!

So….if you're trying to figure out what to take to your 4th of July gathering.  THIS IS THE THING!!  I promise you no one will be disappointed!

Peace, love and tomato groove!   

One thought on “Fireworks In My Mouth!

Leave a Reply

