In Keeping With Tradition

Happy New Year friends!

It’s a brand new year and the opportunity for brand new beginnings. I love New Year’s because the thought of all the amazing things that could happen in the next 365 days is infinite.

My great-grandfather, Po-Po, was a man of great tradition AND superstition. We were never allowed to begin a new year without a big bowl of blackeyed peas. It’s a great southern myth that the consumption of these earthy little gems will help to insure a year blessed with good luck. I don’t know that there is any validity to this, but I keep the tradition going every year because I’m a true believer in the importance of passing down family traditions.

Now, I LOVE a huge, heaping bowl of blackeyed peas, but my family isn’t as keen on them as I am. What can I say…some people just don’t know what they’re missing.

I was really excited this morning when I was surfing through Pioneer Woman’s website and found the recipe for “Zannie’s Blackeyed Pea Dip”. This looks AWESOME and like something my family might actually enjoy.

The best part of this dish is the fact that I have everything I need in my pantry. It can’t get any better than that.

So, my friends, if you’d like to partake in a little southern tradition and add a little luck to your new year hop on over to http://www.ThePioneerWoman.com and click on her cooking link. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

Peace, love and good resolutions!

Leave a Reply

