Chicken and Dumplings

2-9-11 045 

Being home with Ella for the duration of my maternity leave has given me plenty of time to try out new recipes and bake WAY too many goodies.  Before I had her I came across this recipe on Pioneer Woman's blog.  I'd never had chicken and dumplings, but was very curious.  I always thought the dumplings would be too doughy and wet for my liking.  I decided to try them anyway and to my pleasant surprise they were AWESOME!!!

Here's the link to the recipe.  I'm notorious for NOT following a recipe to a T, so I'm telling you what I did differently to make it a little easier.

Rather than dredging and browning the chicken prior to cooking it down I started my whole chicken in the crock pot early in the morning in chicken broth seasoned with garlic powder, onion, salt, pepper and thyme.  I let it cook on high for about 4 to 5 hours or until it starts to fall off the bone.

Once the chicken reaches this point I remove it, pick the meat off the bone shredding as I go.  I drain the broth from the crock pot into a glass bowl and let it set for about 10 minutes to let all the fat come to the top.  Once this happens I spoon off all the fat I can and use the remaining broth for the soup. 

After this is done I chopped my veggies and cooked them down in a little oil and butter.  Once they're softened you can add the chicken and broth and proceed with the recipe as she instructs. 

My family demands that all soups be FULL of meat and veggies to ensure to be extra filling.  I used the same amount of chicken as the recipe calls for, but doubled, if not tripled, the quantity of veggies.  The one adjustment that does need to be made if you're going to do the same is to increase your cooking liquids as the dumplings absorb quite a bit of fluids and will leave you with not much broth in the end if you don't.  This is a soup that you WANT a lot of broth so that you can spoon the rich deliciousness over the dumplings!!!

I highly recommend trying this recipe!  It's just too good not to.  It's the perfect snow day treat.

 

Peace, love and dumplings!

Leave a Reply

