All Is Right With the World

It’s amazing what sleep deprivation will do to one’s body and mind.

My world spiralled downhill rapidly after my post yesterday.

The craziness technically started at 5 am Saturday morning as I layed in bed with Ella trying to keep hr asleep. Grady was leaving for work informing me that I would have all three kids for the day. He couldn’t wake Cade up to take him with him.

The tears immediately started to stream.

How was I going to do this? I hadn’t had any sleep since 1:30. The prior nights hadn’t been much better. Grady asked if I was crying and the only thing that would come out was, “I’m just so tired.” I knew there was nothing he could do. It was his weekend to work. He sympathetically said, “But, you’re doing such a good job.”

I spent the whole day in a dull fog. I could barely keep my eyes open let alone referee two wrestling boys AND tend to a baby who wouldn’t sleep anywhere ,but in my arms.

I felt like I had been drugged.

I was emotional.

I was irrational.

I was tempermental.

I cried all day at random moments, at everything and nothing at all.

When I stated in yesterday’s post that I broke yesterday it was no joke. The lack of sleep literally broke me, broke my mind, broke my spirit, broke my sense of control.

I. Had. Lost. It.

I felt like the walls of this house were caving in on me. I needed out. As much as I adore, love and cherish my kids I needed a break. I needed to feel like a wife, friend, woman and adult again.

Grady called and suggested we go to our friend’s wedding reception. I originally didn’t want to go as I’m typically not one to enjoy such events, but this time I jumped on the opportunity. It was exactly what I needed.

The kids spent the evening with Mimi and we mingled, chatted, laughed and reconnected with our friends for two and a half hours. I was wiped out by the end of the night, but I felt like those few hours gave me exactly what I needed. Solace.

The icing on the cake was the fact that Punkie had just eaten when we picked the kids up. She was out for a while. I underestimated HER exhaustion from the week. She slept for FIVE straight hours! I SLEPT FOR FIVE STRAIGHT HOURS!

Grady took Tucker to work with him this morning, a wonderful treat for him and a break for me.

I feel like a brand new woman today.

Punkie is getting back on track.

I’ve gotten lots done around the house.

EVERYONE is happy today.

All is right with the world again.

Peace, love and harmony.

2 thoughts on “All Is Right With the World

  1. I’m going to tell you a little secret. Kara was like that when she was a baby and I was a bad mom and started letting her sleep on her tummy. IT WORKED and I got my sanity back. I think that Ella is just preparing you for the drama-filled world of girls! Hang in there it’s going to be a bumpy ride!!!

  2. I finally am reading your blog and enjoying it so much! Love you and keep up the good work, new mom, and yes don’t sweat the small stuff. 🙂 Love to all. Hope we can see Ella before she outgrows her outfit…lol ❤

Leave a Reply

