Enchilada Pie

I realized that it’s been AGES since I shared a recipe with you, my fine friends.

No, I haven’t quit cooking.

Actually, I’m trying to lose the extra poundage I managed. To pack on while nourishing the life of my daughter.

The winter months make it SO diificult to shed weight.  Who wants to eat salad everyday when it’s blustery and nasty outside?!

Well, I’ve done some looking and I’ve discovered a few new recipes that are really comfy AND figure friendly.

Enchilada Pie is a recipe that I actually found in my recipe binder.  It was all wrinkled and tattered as though I’d made it before, but Grady and I decided it was actually a new creation on our table.  I made a few simple alterations to make each serving only 411 calories!  These are incredibly generous portions.  You won’t be left hungry.

Enchilada Pie

2 lbs. Ground beef
1/2 onion chopped
1 28 oz. Can crushed tomatoes
1 can cream of mushroom soup
2 cans green chilies
8 – 10 corn tortillas
2 cups shredded monterrey jack cheese

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease a 9 x 13 baking dish.

In a large skillet brown the beef and onions.  Drain fat off and transfer to a colondar in the sink.  Rinse the meat with extremely hot water for 2 to 3 minutes.  Return the meat to the skillet.  Turn the heat down to low.  Add the tomatoes, soup and green chilies.  Heat through.

Place 4 or 5 tortillas in the bottom of the baking dish.  Layer half of the meat mixture on top of the tortillas and then 1 cup of cheese on top of that.  Repeat the layers.

Bake for 30 minutes or until the cheese is melted and the casserole is bubbly.

Cut into 8 portions.  Serve with sour cream and salsa.

Even though this recipe has, literally, no seasoning it’s AMAZING.  Please resist the urge to spice the heck out of it the first time you make it.  Crazy as it may seem everything in this works so well together it doesn’t need any spice.

Enjoy!

Peace, love and low calories!

Leave a Reply

