The Naugthy Chair

Do you ever feel like you need to put yourseelf in a time out?

Yesterday my attitude was been so bad that I needed to sit in the naughty chair.

It was such a MONDAY!

It started out with a flat tire on my way to work.  Fortunately, I was able to make it back to the house and air it up.

I made it to town, dropped it off at my mechanics only to get a phone call that it wasn’t repairable.

“It’s got a huge split in it,” my mechanic says.

So, I call the husband, and get the “well that’s what happens when you drive on a flat tire, you should have changed it” business. (Country girls don’t get the excuse of not knowing how to change a tire.  Ninety-nine percent of the time our daddy’s taught us this when we were 15 or 16.)

My only saving grace was that the crack was NOT a result of driving on it flat (which I didn’t do in the first place…it was just really low).  It was a flaw in how the tire was made, a total fluke.  I still had to fork out $162 for the new one.  OUCH!

To pile on more crud…our oven decided to have a mind of it’s own over the weekend and lock itself and engage the self cleaning mode all while I was trying to bake supper!  Had to call the landlord.  Now I’m stove and ovenless until the repairman can get here because if we leave it on we’re afraid it might burn the house down.

Add that balogna to office issues that are weighing heavily on my mind and it makes for an irritable and grouchy me.

I need some time in the corner to reflect on where this leaves me. 

Initially, I want to pout.

I want to wallow in self pity and throw a tantrum to get my point across.

It works for toddlers doesn’t it?

…sometimes…

I need to remember that this crappy stuff doesn’t define me.

It won’t defeat me if I don’t let it.

I am only beaten if I think I’m beaten.

This too shall pass.  It’s just a bump in my road.  Tomorrow is a new day.

Besides, who can be all that cranky when you get to come home to this…

What a sweet face!

 or this…

My sweet angel.

Peace, love and crabby patties.

Leave a Reply

