Burn 2011

Burn season 2011 has officially begun.

We burned my in-laws pastures over the weekend. which meant that I had camera in hand chomping at the bit for the perfect picture.

I. LOVE. FIRE. PHOTOS!

To even say I “love” them is an understatement.

I’m slightly on the obsessed side.

I took over 300 pictures just trying to get at least a handful of impressive ones.

I think I did a fairly good job this year.

Back Fire

We had to start by back firing around my brother-in-laws house.

After we made sure his house and out buildings would be safe the fun began.

Burn 2011

Burn 2011

Burn 2011

Burn 2011

Burn 2011

Burn 2011

The junior fire bugs took the lead on starting the fire along the road side.  You would have thought they died and went to heaven!

Burn 2011

Burn 2011

Ring of Fire, Burn 2011

Burn 2011

Burn 2011

Tucker and cousin Karlie, the future fire bugs!

Burn 2011

Burn 2011

burn 2011

Burn 2011

burn 2011

Like I said, I LURVE fire photos.

It was so hard to pick from the 305 that I took.  There were so many more that were just as awesome. 

The only thing better is actually being there to experience it.

Peace, love and fire frenzy.

3 thoughts on “Burn 2011

  1. Aw, spring in the Flint Hills, I love it too! The burning and then all the beautiful green grass that comes next!

  2. Wonder if all of your readers know how critical controlled fire is to sustaining our precious Flint Hills…that it keeps the grass strong by removing the old growth so the new will be reach the sunlight and be grazed more evenly; that it controls the brush and trash trees that try to infest and take over the prairie, and that it kills alot of the annual weeds that make the grass less productive.

    Unfortunately, I don’t think our neighbors in Wichita and Kansas City, who sometimes get the smoke drift, always understand the process and the necessity of it, or the great repsect for the land we demonstrate when we burn.

    Nothing is more frightening or potentially tragic than a fire out of control, and paradoxically, nothing is more peaceful than slow-moving lines of fire in the spring night.

Leave a Reply

