Weighing In

I’ve heard all my friends talk about it.  I’ve listened to them tell me it wasn’t going to be as easy.

I took it in.  I believed them, but I had NO idea how hard it really would be.

I’m talking about the dreaded baby weight. 

Everyone said that losing the weight would be twice as hard.

They were SO right!

My body is very kind to me when I’m pregnant.  My metabolism shoots way up allowing me to stuff my face full of comfort food and not gain more than the allowable 20-30 pounds.

Then I pop the kiddo out and I’m left with the same voracious appetite and a metabolism that recognizes I’m no longer feeding two bodies.  Unfortunately, my head is still in the mindset of eating for two.

For the last 3 weeks I’ve been trying to rewire my mind into thinking that it should be satisfied with salads, chicken breasts and smaller portions.

Healthful, lower calorie eating is NOT a new concept to me.  I’ve been really successful in the past with my weight loss methods.  It’s the “getting in the groove” part of it that is hard.

I LOVE sweets.  I LOVE rich foods.  I. LOVE. TO. EAT.

This morning I read one of my favorite blogs, Abbe Doll.  I felt like she had crawled into my head and read my mind!  Everything she said was a mirror refelction of my thoughts.  She hit the nail on the head.

You know, women have this insane idea that we have to look rail thin, tanned and decked out to the nines to be deemed beautiful.  We are so nasty about it.  Rather than lifting our sisters up we criticize, ridicule and judge.

I want to celebrate all my sisters in the beautiful women they are.

I want to share my journey of a healthier life with all of you.

I want to challenge all of my girlfriends in uniting together to share our stories, struggles and triumphs.

Let’s lift each other up.  There’s no greater way to conquer a challenge than to attack it as a group.

So, in an effort to give my tips that help me here are a couple things I do to help fight the battle of the bulge.

* With absolutely no exception, I rinse my hamburger after browning it.  I haven’t found a recipe yet that this won’t work on.  You’d be amazed at how many calories it cuts and the flavor is still great.

* If you have a smatphone try to find an app for calorie counting and daily food log.  I have one on my phone and I love it!  It’s a game I play with myself.  It’s amazing how many calories we REALLY poor into our bodies when we’re not paying attention.  Now, don’t misunderstand me.  This should be used as a helpful tool to educate yourself on the nutritional values of the foods you eat, not something to be obssessed with.  Using this app I try to find ways to make my recipes healthier and more figure friendly.

* Finally, I try to fill up on fruit and veggies.  I stock up on apples, bananas, grapes, baby carrots, cucumbers and green peppers.  When I feel a snack attack I try to eat one of these options rather than chocolate or potato chips.  It might not be what my mind thinks it wants, but afterward I feel really good about myself.  I feel like I have this personal cheering section giving me a big pat on the back when I made a good snack choice.

So these are some of the things that I’ve adopted to help me be more accountable. 

I invite you to share your helpful hints and/or fat busting recipes.

Let’s be each other’s cheerleaders!

Peace, love and carrot stick pom-poms!

2 thoughts on “Weighing In

  1. hi alisha.
    i have been trying to get a hold of you.
    🙂
    you won my french bull giveaway.
    your email must have changed……so get me your real email and mailing address soon so i can get your prize to you.
    YAY!

Leave a Reply

