Holy Twister

Holy Twister: (noun), a brutally, lethal storm producing swirling hurricane force winds strong enough to shoot straw through tree trunks; also known as a tornado.  (Please don’t let Mr. Webster know I made up my own definition.  He may be jealous.)  (Holy Twister is Tucker’s terminology…)

As most of you know, Kansas, Oklahoma and Missouri have been hit hard this week by tornadoes.

The National Weather Service started warning all of us Monday afternoon in the midwest that Tuesday would be THE day for “the perfect storm”. 

We were scheduled for appointments in the big city yesterday and the whole time we were gone the only thing I could think about was getting home to get things ready for the possible trip to our basement.

All day Monday AND Tuesday we kept hearing from our weathermen that we needed to be prepared.

“Had we made our tornado prepapredness kit?”

“Did our family have a tornado plan?”

“Did we have supplies?”

These were all the things the media kept asking.

Nasty storms are the norm around here in the spring and summer.  We’re all used to them and for the most part I LOVE them.  I love them so much that when I lived in Utah, where there is no thunder, I bought a CD of thunderstorms to help when I was homesick.

BUT….

It’s not a common occurrence for our weathermen to get so excited about an anticipated storm that they STRESS to us our kits and plans. 

It’s enough to make this otherwise calm gal a little nervous.

We got home and I immediately began putting things in a big tub ready to go to the basement.

* A change of clothes for everyone.

* Toilettries, water, Band-Aids, beef jerky, peroxide, Neosporin, etc.

* Laptop, camera and other irreplaceable valuables.

* Everything required to sustain Punkie.

All of it sat by the basement door.

It’s an exhausting process, but I feel better when it’s done.  I just wish I could pack up my whole house and take it all with me.

So far, so good.  We’ve evaded danger again, but send our love and prayers to those who haven’t been so fortunate.

Peace, love and Ruby Slippers.

Leave a Reply

