The Girl Next Door

It’s no secret that I’m just a little hooked on a few reality shows.

I’m a total sucker for Housewives of… (almost any city).  I can’t help myself.  I think it’s absolutely hilarious to know that the high-class, big city, posh and snarky women of the world have just as much small town drama as those of us from Podunkville, USA.

My other reality series weakness is The Bachelor/The Bachelorette.  (Big Sigh…)

I “try” to resist.

Really.

I DO try.

But, I’m such a sucker.

Normally, I watch knowing that these goons are ridiculous and the odds are that they won’t be together 6 weeks after the show ends.

I mean, really…

Who can TRULY get to know another person when you’re in paradise for 3 months and the REAL life is miles and miles away.

This season, “cast off” Ashley Hebert, of Brad’s 2nd go around, is our Bachelorette.

Strange as it may seem, I’m thinking this thing MIGHT actually work for her.

My heart broke for her Monday night as several of the men revealed their disappointment at seeing her as the Bachelorette when they stepped out of the limo instead of several other prospects.

You see, Ashley is a simple gal. 

There’s nothing flashy or overly fancy about her. 

She’s not a stunningly, drop dead beautiful woman.

She’s an all American gal.

When she found out what these guys really thought she was crushed.  This was her fear, that she would disappoint these men with her lack of “luster”.

I know how she feels.  I’m nothing EXTRAORDINARY to look at either.  I’m a simple gal.  I don’t have the body of a super model.  I don’t look good in a swimsuit.  My hair is fuzzy and obnoxious on a regular basis and my skin has breakouts.

I think I’m pretty normal.

So, when she broke down from her heart-break my heart hurt for her as well.

BUT…..

Being the all American girl that she is, I think is the reason this process might actually work for her.

These guys aren’t going to be dazzled by her stunning-ness.

They won’t be blindsided with her flaws because they’ve been too busy ogling over her body.

These guys are going to fall in love with a REAL girl.  What they see is what they’re going to get and because of this I think these guys are going to be more apt to being their true selves as well.

So, this season I’ll watch patiently and see if my prediction is correct.

God love the reality shows!

 

Peace, love and blind faith.

Leave a Reply

