Texas Caviar

We like to eat at work.

I mean we like to EAT!

We are always on the hunt for new recipes, interesting twists and all around good food.

We like to find any excuse in the book to have a food day and share our all-time favorites.

Last Friday was just such a day.

…my birthday celebration.  (Full birthday post to follow at a later date.)

I LOVE good food, but I really want it to be as healthful as possible.  I like to indulge relatively guilt free.

I was SO excited when my supervisor brought this awesome little chip dip that packs a punch in the taste department, but takes it REALLY easy on one’s hips, gut and thighs.

Ladies and Gentlemen, let me introduce you to my new best friend…

Texas Caviar!

Aside from being one of the healthiest things you could put in your mouth it’s just STUPID easy!

So, here goes…

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained.
1 can black-eyed peas, rinsed and drained
1 can yellow hominy, rinsed and drained
1 tomato diced
1/2 bell pepper, green and red, chopped fine
1/4 red onion minced
1 jalapeno diced fine (more or less depending on your taste)
1/2 to 3/4 cup fat free Italian dressing
Salt and pepper to taste

Mix everything together at least 3 to 4 hours prior to servings.  Cover and chill.  Eat with tortilla chips.

Try not to eat the whole bowl.  It’s really hard.  I’m telling you, I think they need a rehab program for this stuff!

Now… if you “think” you don’t like black-eyed peas OR hominy you HAVE to try this.  Every year I make Grady eat black-eyed peas for New Years and he gringes.  He tried this dip and proclaimed that this shall be the new New Year food!  If you really don’t like hominy (which I think is a sin, by the way) you can substitute it with shoepeg corn instead, but please try it with the hominy at least once.  I think you’ll be surprised.

I went off and forgot to buy a tomato at the store so I improvised and used canned diced tomatoes and just chopped them a little more.  It worked well, just drain off all their juice.

See, I told you yesterday that I would have something awesome for you!

Enjoy!

Peace, love and the GOOD caviar!

Leave a Reply

