Project Complete

It only took about 9 months, but Ella’s quilt is FINALLY done!!!

We had a few hiccups along the way.

Christmas projects put it on the back burner.  Our quilter was ill and so it sat in her shop for a few months.  And then we figured out that we hadn’t cut our binding fabric wide enough after having learned how to properly bind it during the Christmas potholder project.  So we had to find more of the original fabric.

So, without further delay, here’s Punkie’s quilt made by her momma and Grandma Jackie.

I LOVE it!!!!  It’s exactly what I was hoping for and more.

I know Jackie kept thinking my color choices were wild and she’s NOT a green fan, but I think she’d agree that it turned out cute.

I’m most proud of the fact that we didn’t have a pattern for this.  We saw a picture of one like it in a magazine and we made the pattern up ourselves.

We’ve decided that we will NEVER make another quilt with 2×2 squares.  So tedious and time-consuming.

BUT… because of this quilt I had MANY fun weekends laughing and learning, AND I’ve found a new hobby that I’m kind of good at.  Precious time spent that I can’t wait to do again!!!  Thanks, Jackie!  YOU ROCK!!  (But you already know that.  wink..wink..)

 

 

Peace, love and little stitches.

2 thoughts on “Project Complete

  1. Your quilt is beautiful, and the fact that you didn’t follow a pattern is amazing. I would have given up half way through with all those 2 inch squares! Congratulations on creating such a beautiful quilt.

Leave a Reply

