Taco Burgers

Summer menus are always hard for me.

No one wants to eat anything heavy and eating light meals that satisfy a 5-year-old who hates anything leafy and green are hard.

We eat a TON of taco salad and grill often.

My other dilemma is trying to stay out of the grocery store all the time.  I’m really focusing on using what I have in the cupboard instead.

Monday night I decided to get creative.

We love tacos and we love burgers, but I just wasn’t in the mood for either one.

Soooo….

I came up with Taco Burgers!

Grady and I were pretty impressed with ourselves.  They were a great new twist on a couple old favorites.

Taco Burgers

1 lb. ground beef

1 package taco seasoning

1 can chopped green chilies

1 can black beans, rinsed, drained and patted dry

1/2 cup taco cheese

Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl.  Form into patties and grill until they’ve reached your desired doneness.  Grady’s big trick for great grill marks is to turn them a 1/4 turn after about 7 minutes.

Warm taco size tortillas and serve burgers in tortilla with sour cream, salsa and a little more.

guacamole would be KILLER on these!!!

The BEST part about these is that the addition of the beans makes your ground beef go further AND cuts down on the overall fat content and calorie count per burger!!!!  Not to mention, the beans taste AMAZING in the them.  I have to give big props to Grady on suggesting adding the beans.

I hope your family enjoys them as much as we did.

 

Peace, love and Bean-o!

Leave a Reply

