Huevos Rancheros

Last weekend Abbey and I were discussing foods that we were “hooked” on.  She told me about eating Huevos Rancheros at a diner last week and how much she loved it.

Well, earlier this week I happened to be looking through the internet for a completely unrelated recipe and found a great one for her new-found addiction.

I passed it on to her and she actually made it that night.  At about 10 pm I got a text message from her thanking me for the recipe along with a picture of her plate.

It looked AWESOME!

I told her that I would be making it this week.

…and I did.

It was awesome.

It was everything I dreamt of and more.

Of course I didn’t follow the recipe.  I know, I’m sorry.  I have a problem with directions sometimes.  Okay, so I only have a problem with following recipes.  Sometimes they’re just lacking.

I added a few things, surprise, surprise.

Try it out and let me know what YOU think.

Huevos Rancheros

Corn Tortillas (one for each serving), warmed

Eggs (one to two per serving)

1 can black beans, drained and slightly mashed

1/3 cup water

1 tsp. garlic powder or 1 clove minced garlic

Homemade Salsa (see recipe below)

2 tsp. olive oil

Mexican chorizo

Cilantro

Shredded Mexican Cheese

 In a small skillet heat 2 tsp. olive oil.  Add salsa and let simmer until slightly thickened, about 5 minutes.  Remove from pan into bowl and set aside. (This can come to room temperature.  Does not need to stay hot.)  In the same pan put the smashed beans, 1/3 cup water, garlic and salt and pepper.  Simmer until thickened.  Set aside.

 In a separate skillet, while you’re making the salsa and beans, brown the chorizo.  Drain on a paper towel.  Do not remove grease from the pan.  Add enough oil to fry eggs.  Once oil is hot fry eggs, over easy.

 In order to keep everything hot preheat oven to low and place items needing to be kept warm in the oven until ready to assemble.

 Once all components are complete it’s time to set up an assembly line.  Place one tortilla on the plate.  Top with a generous schmear of black beans.  Top beans with one to two over easy eggs.  Generously cover eggs with warm salsa and a small amount of chorizo.  Sprinkle with grated cheese and cilantro.

 DEVOUR!!!

 

Homemade Salsa

1 large can peeled tomatoes (juices drained off)

1 large jalapeno (or two if you’re brave)

1 large yellow or white onion

1 tbsp. minced garlic

juice of 1 lime

1 bunch cilantro

salt

Put everything, except the cilantro and salt in the blender or food processor and blend until smooth and all chunks are gone.  Chop cilantro and add.  Salt to taste.

 

Peace, love and addictions!

2 thoughts on “Huevos Rancheros

Leave a Reply

