Pulled/Chopped Pork Sandwiches

photo courtesy of google images

Pulled pork is my weakness.

It’s my drug of choice.

I think I’d do almost anything to have some.

Here’s my problem (as if being hopelessly hooked on this stuff isn’t already a problem).  I don’t have a smoker and I certainly don’t have anywhere in my yard that I can dig up to pit one either.

Last week my local grocer was having a special on pork butts so I snagged one up.  I usually cook it down and use it for enchiladas, but I had a hankering for pulled pork and was on a mission to make it without the smoker or the pit.

This was what I was looking for the day when I found the huevos rancheros recipe.  I LOVE finding more than one good find!!!

I found a few recipes and decided I could wing it. 

Don’t roll your eyes, none of them had much for flavor boosters.  I LOVE spices and seasonings.

Here’s what I did.

Pulled/Chopped Pork

1 5-6 lb. pork butt (bone-in or not, doesn’t matter) DO NOT TRIM THE FAT!!!!

1 cup chicken broth

1-2 tbsp. liquid smoke

2 tbsp. season salt

2 tbsp. cajun seasoning

1 tbsp. garlic powder

1/2 tbsp. onion powder

1 tbsp. lemon pepper

Pat the pork butt dry.  Score the fat cap with a knife making a diamond shape design.

Mix all seasonings together in a bowl and rub them ALL OVER that butt.  Treat that pork with respect.  Massage him gently and lovingly, then put him in a big crock pot.  Add the chicken broth and liquid smoke.  You don’t need much broth as the fat will melt down and make more juices.  Cook on low for 6-8 hours.

Once the butt is to the point of being fork tender and falling apart remove it from the crock pot as gently as possible with tongs.  Place in a bowl and let rest for about 15-20 minutes.  DO NOT get rid of the juices, leave them in the crock pot for now.

After the meat has cooled put it on a large cutting board and begin to chop it up with a sharp knife.  Put in a large serving dish and ladle several spoons of the cooking juices over it to keep moist.

Serve on buns with a GOOD barbecue sauce.  I am begging you to resist all temptation to dump gobs of BBQ sauce on this and stir it up, before serving it.  This meat is so drippingly delicious all by itself.  It certainly doesn’t need any help.  It’s a show stopper all on its own.  I will say that a tad of sauce to accompany it will be fine, but to drown it in sauce would be criminal and may result in the local law enforcement showing up on your doorstep to take you away in cuffs.

It’s that bad.

I’m not kidding.

This is serious stuff.

So, go to your grocer, ask for a big ‘ol butt and enjoy it!

 

Peace, love and pig hineys!

One thought on “Pulled/Chopped Pork Sandwiches

  1. I love pork done like this. We have a butchers where I live that does this everyday for lunch with apple sauce and also other types of meats. They just put loads of it in a roll with some sauce and it tastes amazing. Pretty cheap too.

Leave a Reply

