The Morning Drive

image

image

Grady and I are enjoying a weekend with no kiddos.  Cade is at his mom’s and Tuck and Punkie are enjoying some QT with Nana and Papa.

It’s a foreing feeling to wake up to an empty house.  I don’t like it, but I’m enjoying my time alone with my better half.

We woke up this morning and headed out the door for a little road trip.  The ranch had a few stray cattle that needed to be picked up and brought back.  We already needed to bring the grey gelding back from the ranch rodeo last night so it was off to get the strays.

I love little road trips with Grady.  He always surprises me with fun little stops and stories about random places along the way.

I’m a breakfast eater.  You don’t want to see what happens if I don’t get my daily ration of go-go juice (coffee) and some protein in my belly.  It’s not pretty.  I’m a very grouchy girl.

After declaring that I could use some roughage Grady pulled into a little town in between here and there and treated me to breakfast.

The Hays House Bakery.

O. M. G.

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE diners!  I am a firm believer that you get the most amazing food from small town diners.  You just KNOW that everything is cooked with love by someone who simply LOVES to cook.

Grady chose this place because when he was a little boy this was where he would go for breakfast every time he stayed with his grandparents.

I could see why.  The bakery counter was filled with rich, decadent breakfast pastries, bear claws the size of my head and homemade donut holes of all shapes and sizes.  I wanted to try it all, but the handwritten little sign on the wall was where my stomach was calling me….

Biscuits and gravy.

Eggs, bacon, sausage.

French toast.

Pancakes.

Homemade toast.

Breakfast burritos.

That breakfast burrito was calling my name.  They had two options, the traditional or Larry’s burrito.  I just knew Larry’s burrito had to be a monster as it was $2 more than the regular.  I settled on the regular and Grady got Larry’s.

We settled at our table, coffee in hand and he with his iced tea.  We giggled at what Grady called “the Hens” sitting at the big table in the corner gossiping about the locals.  We patiently waited for our food chatting about the kids, our evening plans and everyhing random in between.

When our plates came our eyes were wide.  The Larry burrito was a mammoth.  I was very happy I settled for the regular.  We pushed up our sleeves and dug in.  I think Grady’s eyes rolled in the back of his head a couple times. These were PERFECT! 

Larry came out from the kitchen and asked how it was.

“Amazing”, was all we could say.

This is the other thing I love about a little diner.  Your ooohs and ahhhs and general ravings over the cook’s food are all he needs to make him happy.  He knows he’s filled a belly or two and put a smile on a few faces.  That’s what he lives for.

We finished it off and sat back rubbing our stuffed midsections.  I was in heaven.  We topped our drinks, thanked the owners profusely for the good grub and headed down the road.

I love road trips with my husband.

Peace, love and sweet surprises.

Leave a Reply

