Mr. Sandman, please bring me a dream.

It’s eleven o’clock on a Sunday night.  I’ve been tossing and turning for an hour and a half.

It’s been an insane day full of chaos, dirt, small emgergencies and exhausted kiddos.  My body is worn out, but my mind won’t let me turn out the lights.

I don’t know about you, but it seems as though when I’ve had the most stressful of days I have the darnedest time winding it all down.  When it’s all said and done, the dust finally settling on the craziness and the lights are out my mind begins the race.  It continually plays back the events of the day as they spiralled downward adding other factors completely unrelated to the day, yet equally nerve wracking until my head is so full of boggling thoughts that even a quiet prayer for a peaceful head seems to be a ridiculous idea.

I am at this point at this very moment.  With every minute that passes I feel more and more desperate for that relaxed calm in my neck as my eyes get heavier and heavier  and my thoughts are drunk with sleep.  I feel my neck becoming stiff and tense, the headache from tension begins to make itself welcome at the back of my head and the ridiculous thoughts begin streaming in.  You know the ones I’m talking about…  the ones that always seem to make the smallest of situations become the size of Paul Bunyon in the wee hours of the night.

Why do we do this to ourselves?  Why can’t we just have a little switch in our heads that blocks all silliness and absurdity from entering our heads during the crucial sleeping hours.

I thought, maybe, if I told all of you about my insomnia it might help to make me sleepier. 

I’m yawning.

Does that count?

Well, here’s to hoping you won’t be reading this until morning because the sleep fairy has granted you sweet dreams.

Good night, all.

Peace, love and sweet dreams.

One thought on “Mr. Sandman, please bring me a dream.

  1. On stressful nights, try seducing yourself into sleep. Next time you are at Target (or I can get you some when you come to see me) pick up an organic Nighty Night tea and a Lemon Balm tea. Warm bath+stretching+no TV before bed+lighte-hearted book+tea will have you dozing off in time!

Leave a Reply

