Creamy Italian Chicken and Rice

I don’t believe I’ve ever shared with you my passion, er…obssession with Pinterest.

Hopelessly, and utterly addicted to the site.

It’s a sickness.

I’m currently seeking therapy.  Okay, maybe not, but I should be.

Back to the chicken.

I was perusing through the site when I happened a upon a crock pot recipe for chicken.  It only had 5 ingredients and one of them was cream cheese.  You just can’t go wrong with cream cheese.  So, I printed it out and fixed it for supper last night.

While I’m sure it could use a little tweaking as do almost all recipes I fiddle with, it was a hit with my kids and STUPID easy on a busy night.  Ella LOVED it.  Tucker, my picky eater, didn’t hate it and I found it rich and satisfying. 

Ingredients:

2-3 large chicken breasts

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 8 oz. package cream cheese

1 packet Good Seasons Italian dressing seasoning mix  (found in the salad dressing section of the store)

2 cups rice

Soften your cream cheese on the counter, or if you’re crunched for time like me put the cream cheese in a microwave safe bowl and nuke for 30 seconds or until soft and almost melty.  Stir in soup and mix until well combined.  Pour into the bottom of your crock pot.  Place chicken breasts on top and sprinkle with seasoning mix.  Cook on low for 6-8 hours.  When chicken is fully cooked and starting to fall arpt boil 2 cups rice in 4 cups water until water is absorbed and the rice is tender.  While the rice is cooking remove chicken from crock pot and place on large cutting board.  Let cool for several minutes.  After the chicken has cooled dice into bite size pieces and return to crock pot mixing with the sauce.  Serve the sauced chicken over the rice.

Here’s what I did:

I used 4 large chicken breasts and two cans of the soup and one seasoning packet.  I should have added another half brick of cream cheese to balance out the soup to cheese ratio, but didn’t have it on hand.  I also should have used a second packet of seasoning to amp up the flavor intensity. 

Regardless of the “should haves” the dish turned out to be a hit.  I will definitely make it again with the changes and see how it helps/hinders the overal flavor.

I hope you consider this one on your next crazy, busy night. 

Peace, love and quicky chicky.

3 thoughts on “Creamy Italian Chicken and Rice

Leave a Reply

