Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

Are you bored with the same old pumpkin pie recipes?

Do you want to wow your guests with something delectable AND healthy?

I thought so.

How about Pumpkin Spice cupcakes…?

My co-worker and good friend, Bre, is a cupcake making machine.  This girl is constantly treating the office to some serious sweet treats.  I’m usually looking down my nose at her for bringing in things that my mouth just can’t pass up, but my hips say I need to.

I remember the first time she brought these in.  While devouring one, I marched into her office and proceeded to tell her with my mouth STUFFED, “woo, weally need to top making dese fings!!!!”

She laughed and told me the recipe and I promptly marched back to the kitchen and got another one.

They’re THAT good for you!

You’ll need:

1 spice cake mix

1 15 oz. can pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie filling)

1 small box instant vanilla pudding mix

1/2 cup water

Preheat the oven to 350°.  Line cupcake pan with liners.

In a large bowl combine the cake mix, water and pumpkin puree.  Mix well with a blender until smooth.

Next, add the box of pudding mix.  Blend again until smooth. (Pudding mix is a GREAT trick for making ANY cake or cupcakes SUPER moist and tender.)

Fill cupcake wrappers about half full.  For fully domed cupcakes fill three quarters of the way full. 

Bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden and a toothpick inserted comes out clean.  These WILL be very soft when you take them out.  They’re extremely moist so please don’t overbake thinking they’re undercooked because they’re so soft.

Let cool on a rack.  Now, mine turned out fairly ugly.  I found out that since the batter is so much thicker it doesn’t “melt down” like typical cake batter does.  So, for a nice rounded cupcake make sure the batter is smoothed down before baking.

For the frosting combine 4 oz. softened Neufchatel cheese or reduced fat cream cheese, 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar and 1 tsp vanilla.  Blend until smooth.

Here’s my trick.  I like to put the frosting in a plastic baggie.  Snip the tip and you have a homemade piping bag.  TOO EASY. 

I tend to pile on the frosting when it comes to any sort of cake, but trying to keep these on the healthier side, while still indulging I dialed the frosting back by about 2/3 my usual amount.  It was just the right amount.

So, here’s the skinny on these babies.

Each cupcake, unfrosted is only 23 calories, less than .1 gram of fat, (so I’m saying fat free) and 2.3 grams of sugars!!!!!  I couldn’t believe it when I did the math!!!  These are PERFECT for Grady’s family who has three diabetics AND for all of us watching our weight.

So you can guarantee I took the liberty of licking a beater!

You HAVE to try these.  I’m going to bet money that you have some leftover pumpkin in your pantry.  Doesn’t everyone?  You won’t regret it and neither will your hips.  Trust me on this one.  I’m a HUGE skeptic when it comes to “diet’ food.  This one takes the cake.

Ha!  Ha!  Ha!  I made a funny!

Now, THAT’S a Black Friday deal!

Peace, love and over indulgence!

One thought on “Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

  1. ❤ this recipe, ❤ you girlie!!! You have introduced me to so many savory, scrumptious snacks, and helped get me "out of my comfort zone" when it comes to cooking. You have taken my baking to the next level by teaching me some of your famous words, "ahh hell, just throw it in!" I'm so proud when I can make and share a recipe that YOU love!!!

    hehehe.. one more thing.. i use an ice cream scoop when dividing these into the liners… makes pretty, round cupcake tops!!

Leave a Reply

