Lemon and Dill Chicken

Last night my sweet babies went to spend the weekend with Nana and Papa.  Grady and I have a Christmas party to go to tonight and I REALLY need some quiet time around the house to get some projects finished while Grady works.  Time like this is SACRED to me.

I got up at 5:00 am with Grady and am now enjoying a peaceful cup of joe while I decide which project to tackle first.

One of the great things about having the kids away is getting the opportunity to cook food that their palettes just aren’t ready for.  I found an amazing chicken recipe on Pinterest that was pinned by a friend.  It was even dubbed a Weight Watchers recipe.  Thanks, Alana!!  As I read through the recipe it sounds very similar to something I’d had in a restaraunt and was anxious to try.  I stopped at the store and grabbed the few things I needed to get it made and was set.  Not only is this recipe EXTREMELY figure friendly it’s REALLY easy on the wallet.  The main components cost about $10.

I was also excited to try the recipe because the lemon makes it BRIGHT and light.  Sometimes I feel like the only thing we eat in the winter is heavy, rich food that weighs us down.  Don’t get me wrong it’s GOOD food, but it’s just not really good for us.  This recipe excited me.  A bright healthy meal on a dark day.

Ingredients:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

3 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup finely chopped onion

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup chicken broth (reduced sodium if you prefer)

2 tablespoons flour

2 tablespoons chopped FRESH dill

1 tablespoon FRESH lemon juice

Season the chicken breasts liberally on both sides with salt and pepper.  Heat 1 1/2 teaspoons olive oil in a large heavy skillet over medium high heat.  Add the chicken and sear until well browned on both sides, about 3 minutes per side.  Transfer chicken to a plate and tent with foil.

Reduce heat to medium.  Whisk broth, flour, 1 tablespoon dill and lemon juice in a bowl and set aside.  Add the remaining oil to the pan.  Add the onion and garlic and saute, stirring constantly for one minute.  Add the broth mixture to the pan.  Cook, whisking until slightly thickened, about 3 minutes.

Return the chicken and any accumulated juices to the pan; reduce heat to low and simmer until the chicken is cooked through, about 4 minutes.  Transfer the chicken to a platter.  Season the sauce with salt and pepper and spoon over the chicken.  Garnish with the remaining chopped dill.

Here’s what I did.

In my mad dash at the store to get my ingredients in plenty of time, so I wasn’t late picking up my kids, I grabbed a package of chicken cutlets rather than full breasts.  The breasts were HUGE and only sold in packs of two.  I didn’t have time to check with the butcher to see if they had packs of 4 in the back, so I improvised.  There were about 5 cutlets in the pack and I knew it’d be an easy way to fake out my eyes and stomach.  LESS on my plate while looking like more AND cutting the calories even further.

I doubled the sauce recipe.  I knew I wasn’t going to have any rock star fresh veggie side dish to go along with this so I decided to put it over pasta, similar to what I’d had in the restaurant.  The reduced calories in the cutlets helped balance out the calories added by the pasta.  The pasta balanced it out to make it a full and satisfying meal.  I would have used whole wheat pasta rather than the standard type to make it even better, but I had to go with what I had.

I can’t tell you how EASY this dish is to prepare!  It’s perfect for 2 or 10.  My only advice is to make sure you have ALL of your ingredients prepped before starting any of the steps.  I kind of got in a bind while sauteing the onions and garlic trying to mix the sauce ingredients.  I almost burned the garlic which is a HUGE no-no.

I will also stress the importance of using FRESH ingredients.  Fresh dill tastes so much better than dried.  These days most grocers carry the little packs of fresh herbs in their produce dept., even the little grocery stores.  It really need to be fresh to stand up to the tartness of the lemon juice.  And the lemon juice… GO BUY A LEMON.  Please don’t use the concentrated stuff sitting in that bottle in your fridge.  It’s just icky.

This recipe is husband APPROVED.  Grady really liked it.  He said, “I like it.  It’s different, but I like it.”  Which means, I have permission to make it again.  He even kept his stamp of approval after I told him it was a Weight Watchers recipe.  THAT’S how good this is.

So, here’s the skinny (on the original recipe, not my editted version):

173 calories, 6 grams fat, 64 mg cholesterol, 3 g carbs, 24 grams protein, 0 grams fiber, and 236 mg sodium (if using reduced sodium broth, which I didn’t)

See, you just can’t go wrong.  I initially cut my calories in half by cutting my chicken in half since that’s where the majority of those are coming from and could definitly eat the pasta guilt free with more sauce.

Go try it out.  Be brave and entertain your guests with it.  They’ll LOVE it.  I’m going to get brave and try it out on my kids next.

Peace, love and happy skinny tummies!

2 thoughts on “Lemon and Dill Chicken

Leave a Reply

