Hmmmm…

For the first time in a lot of years I came out of the Christmas holiday in good spirits.

Happy.

Content.

Relaxed.

Rested.

Feeling blessed.

Most years… I feel ragged, tired, worn down, frustrated, frazzled and relieved that the holiday is over. Christmas’ past have been stressful for me. So many questions…

Where are we going today?

What do we have left to buy?

What food do I need to make now?

How many days to we have to cram all of this in?

Do I have enough for the kids?

Will everyone like what I got them?

I don’t do well with it most of the time. By the end of it I’m usually tremendously grouchy and just NOT pleasant to be around. I’m done with Christmas music and done with the decorations.

This years was so much different.

I adopted a new mindset.

I was going to be nice to EVERYONE that I came across in stores regardless of their grinchiness, on the street and anywhere I went. I wanted to GIVE the Christmas Spirit in order to feel it. I wanted to be what I wanted to feel.

And you know what?

It worked. I didn’t care what the schedule was like. It was going to be what it was. I wasn’t worried if “Jane/Joe” liked her/his gift because I knew it came from MY heart and if “she/he” didn’t like it then that was their problem. I wasn’t going to get overly worried about it. That’s not what the holiday is about right?

It’s not about the gifts.

It’s about JESUS!!!! And the gift that HE is to us and celebrating HIS life, not our own wants, desires and “needs”.

When I looked around my home and my family, I knew that I had everything I could ever want and ask for with me already.  I didn’t NEED anything else.

THIS, was the best Christmas I’ve ever had.

I’m hoping to adopt the same attitude toward the upcoming New Year!

Peace, love and blessings.

Leave a Reply

