Sunday Fun Day

I love Sundays.

I wish we could have Sundays in the middle of the week.  A day to relax, spend time with your family, go to church and let the steam escape from the pressure cooker of life.

We didn’t get to go to church this morning because Ella’s one year shots are really throwing her for a loop. My usual bottomless pit hasn’t eaten much, is running a slight fever and is sleeping and snuggling more than usual.

The doc gave her a clean bill of health.  A very healthy 23 pounds and 30 inches!!!  She’s in the 90th percentile on her weight and between the 75th and 90th on her height, which means that even though she appears to be a chuncky monkey she’s perfectly proportionate and NOT overweight.  She’s just right.  He said that her motor skills, chattering and social skills are advanced for her age.  In other words, she’s motoring (on her feet everywhere), talking non-stop and fearless of strangers.  And yes, the excessive drool is normal and hopefully going to slow down any time according to her doctor.

*****************************************

The cold weather has been making her big brother do strange things.

I love this boy’s imagination.  I told him he looked like a Viking and he replied that he thought he looked like an Indian.

…okay.

I am an avid reader and love for my kids to read.  I think it’s a very important tool to help their imaginations grow.  We’ve consistently read to Tucker since he was a very little guy.  We read to Ella when she sits still long enough and when she doesn’t she looks at all of her books.

Tucker has discovered chapter books at school. 

This is his favorite series, Junie B. Jones.  He got about 6 of them for Christmas.  I love these books.  They’re right on his level and gets him extremely excited about reading.  We try to make a goal to read two chapters a night.  I’m really excited for the day when he can read the chapters to me.  He’s getting there.

************************************

This is Grady’s weekend to work.  On days like today when the wind is howling and the temperature has dipped down to a less than desireable degree I like to make sure I have something hearty and belly warming for supper.

Tonight it’s going to be my Rockstar White Chicken Chili.  I haven’t made it since I shared it with you the first time.  I hope it’s as awesome this time around.

*********************************

I’ve known for quite some time now, but have been waiting for permission to share the news…

I get to be an AUNT!!!!  My baby sister and her sweet husband are expecting their first baby this summer!

I’m so excited I can hardly stand it!!!  I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE being a mom and I’ve been waiting patiently to have the opportunity to exchange parenting stories with my siblings.  They’re going to be AMAZING parents.

Congrats, guys!

************************************

Have you been watching Bachelor? 

I have.

I’m a junkie.  I watch even when I don’t like the person.  It’s a little problem I have.

Ben’s a cutie and I don’t like Courtney.  She’s a fruitcake and has some issues.  I love the redhead from Oklahoma City.  She’s a downhome Southern girl with class and charm, not to mention B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L hair!!! 

There, I just had to lay that out there.

*******************************

What are your Sunday traditions?

 

 

Peace, love and chillaxing!!!

Leave a Reply

