Daylight Saving(s) Me NO Time

This time change thing has rocked my little family’s world.

Tucker doesn’t want to get out of bed in the morning.

Ella has a hard time going to bed at 8:30.

Everyone wants to stay outside later which means EVERYTHING gets pushed back, supper, bathtime, bedtime, mommy’s relaxation time…

Everything.

I’m sure we’ll eventually get into a routine, but for now…  It’s kickin’ my tail end.

******************

This is my new best friend.

You couldn’t have made me touch it with a ten foot pole when I was a kid.

Nope.  Wouldn’t try it.

Now…I could eat an entire bunch of asparagus.

Last summer my girlfriend, Bre, introduced me to it’s wonderment!  She blanched it, wrapped it with a little ham with a dab of herbed cream cheese inside.

(Cue the heavenly music.)  HALELLUJAH!!  HALELLUJAH!!!

I couldn’t get enough of it.

Then I just discovered grilling it.  Just a dab of olive oil and some grill seasoning and it’s like candy!  Don’t over cook it, though.  There’s nothing worse than mushy asparagus.  BLECK!!!

*******************

I love impromptu visits from great friends!  Some of our dearest friends stopped by last night to talk cowboy attire with Grady.  Our friend, Wes, is getting a new pair of leggings and needed to try Grady’s on for measurement.  In cowboy lingo, leggings are chaps.  Specifically they’re the long variety that are more fitted to the cowboy’s legs and boots which add warmth in the winter and ease in movement (there’s not any extra material to get in the way).  Traditional chaps are more flared at the boot.

Back to the friends.  It’s so great to randomly get to catch up and let the kids play.  Sometimes I feel like life gets so nutty that I find myself losing touch with the people that mean the most to me.  I need to make an effort to have MORE impromptu gatherings. 

****************

The weight loss plan is in full swing.  I feel good about what I’m putting in my body.  I’m extremely conscious of it all.  I slipped up Tuesday and let myself have some Sonic tater tots.  I stayed within my calorie count for the day, but felt BLAH for having eaten them.  I wasn’t beating myself up, but I could definitely tell that my body just didn’t like that “fuel” anymore. 

I’m down 4 pounds so far.  Sixteen left to go.  I know I’m doing really well, but I’m ready to be able to SEE the results.  I’m ready for my pants to feel looser.

I know, in due time.  Slow and steady is the way to go.  I’m not very patient when it comes to stuff like this, if you haven’t noticed.

How about you?  How are you doing?  Are you trying to turn a healthier leaf over as well?  What are your tricks to a healthier you?

 

 

Peace, love and random sleepy thoughts.

One thought on “Daylight Saving(s) Me NO Time

  1. Im such a nerd… I recently discovered red peppers. Yep. like I said, N-E-R-D. I can’t get enough of them! I love them in every form…. grilled red peppers, stuffed red peppers, raw red peppers dipped in ranch, red peppers on my salad, red peppers in my casserole. You gals were always eating them here at work and i wouldn’t try them. Shame on ME. Now the biggest down fall – the price! I think we are going to try and plant a red pepper garden… to go along with our asparagus patches.. mmm.. mmm! Any green thumb tips would be appreciated 😉 ….

Leave a Reply

