Skinny Huevos Rancheros and Un-Fajitas

So, there’s no question about my (eeerrr) obsession with Mexican food.

I love it.

I can’t get enough of it.

I HAD to be from south of the border in a past life.  That’s the only explanation.

Here’s the problem…. Mexican food is NOT low-calorie.  Let’s face it, with all the sour cream, cheese, guacamole and tortillas it would EASY to go over the daily calorie allowance in ONE meal.

This morning I woke up and was CRAVING my beloved huevos rancheros.  The beans, garlic, eggs, salsa, tortilla and cheese all blended together just sings to my soul!

But…the calorie count for one of these puppies is more than I want for one meal.  One tortilla, alone, is over 100 calories.  When you’re trying to keep your entire breakfast under 450 calories (coffee included), that tortilla just isn’t an option. And the cheese.  Oh, blessed, cheese, you are so high in calories.

But…I was still FIENDING for this meal, so I just eliminated the tortilla, used a PINCH of cheese, fried my eggs in NON-STICK spray instead of oil and boosted it up with lots of flavor by adding garlic and cumin to my beans and a good amount of cilantro.  And here’s what you end up with.

Skinny Huevos Rancheros

I didn’t miss the tortilla or extra cheese at all!!!  This is a HUGE portion.  It’s packed with a good amount of hunger sustaining lean protein and lots of fiber from the beans.  This whole plate is only 378 calories!!!! (That’s with TWO eggs and half of the beans!!!!)

The other REALLY exciting part… it’s STUPID easy to put together.  The hardest part is waiting on the beans to simmer and cook down in their own juices until their thick.  Fifteen minutes tops, that’s it.

Okay, so what’s the UN-fajita, you ask? 

Well, it’s kind of the same concept as the Skinny Huevos Rancheros.

We LOVE fajitas in our house.  Grady in particular LOVES fajitas.  The man could eat his weight in these things.

But again, the tortilla, sour cream, guacamole, cheese…all of those things that we like to pile onto our fajitas is a diet KILLER.

So, here’s how I got around it.  We grilled out chicken as usual and  I sautéed onions and peppers in NON-STICK spray rather than olive oil or vegetable oil.  (And guess what…the flavor is actually BETTER this way.  You taste 100% of the sweet, caramelized onions and sweet peppers rather than the heaviness of an oil.) 

I made cilantro, lime BROWN rice to go along with it since I was skipping the tortilla.  (Prepare brown rice according to directions on the package using chicken broth instead of water.  Add chopped garlic and cook.  When the rice is done add the juice of half a lime and a couple of tablespoons of cilantro.)

When it was all said and done Grady sliced up the chicken with the exception of a couple of breasts.  I placed a small breast on my plate (4 oz. or less), piled on a HUGE helping of the peppers and onions and again, a pinch of cheese.  I put it in the oven for a few minutes to let the cheese melt. I measured out one portion of the rice (3/4 cup) and dove in.

I LOVED it!  I didn’t miss the tortilla OR the sour cream and other fixings.  the combination of all these flavors was out of this world.  The peppers and onions were so over the top that I could have eaten the entire bowl of those alone.  The addition of the rice amped up the flavor combinations. 

(I apologize for no photograph, I devoured it before I could get to my camera.  I was a little hungry that night.) 

The best part was that I was STUFFED after eating all of that and guess what?  That entire plate of food was only 348 calories!!!!

So, I have to ask…

Have you joined Myfitnesspal.com?  This site just motivates the heck out of me!!  I just discovered, this past week, that you can enter an ENTIRE recipe on it and it calculates EVERYTHING for you!!!  No more guessing!!!  It’s AWESOME!!  If you want to hop on the health wagon and need a boost or a little encouragement you should really check it out.

Peace, love and FIESTA food!!!

P.S.  Myfitnesspal.com has NO idea who I am.  This isn’t a paid advertisement for them.  I’m just THAT excited about their site!!!!!!  For reals!

4 thoughts on “Skinny Huevos Rancheros and Un-Fajitas

  1. We appear to be on the same page! I have a mini obsession with Mexican food, but less calories is always a bonus especially since beach weather will be here before we know it! Thanks for the inspiration today! It sounds (and looks) like you ate really well today.

    • Man, I’m glad we don’t live ANYWHERE near a beach! LOL! I’d be in BIG trouble. I have a long way to go before this body is bikini clad, but I’m on a good road and discovering new ways to “health up” my favorites is really fun!

Leave a Reply

