Light Cajun Chicken Alfredo

I’ve been on a mad hunt for tasty low-calorie chicken recipes.  I perused through Pioneer Woman’s Special Dietary Needs section on her Tasty Kitchen portion of her blog.  It’s a small collection, but what’s there looks really great.  I picked out three recipes and made the first one last night.  

Light Cajun Chicken Alfredo.

Who doesn’t love Alfredo sauce?  I mean COME ON!!!!  Rich, creamy, decadent sauce that SLATHERS pasta noodles and anything else you can think of…  (Let’s pause for a moment of silence…)

Ahem… back to the recipe.  I had to convince myself to make this one because it goes against everything in my nature and uses…(whisper voice) a packet of sauce mix….

I know.  I know.  I DO NOT like to use prefab mixes.  If at all possible I want to make everything from scratch.  Scratch tastes better and is typically better for you, less preservatives and I can pronounce everything in it. But being as how this week has been a little busy and I wanted to give this a try I lowered my head, picked up the packet in the gravy section and walked to the register.  It didn’t hurt nearly as bad as I thought it would.

This one definitely falls into the 30-minute meal category!!!  Super easy to put together and EVERYONE devoured it!!!  Grady even had TWO huge plates of it. 

You want the numbers?  This meal made with WHOLE milk is only 266 calories per serving!!!  You could DEFINITELY have 2 servings OR dessert!!!

Here’s how to make it.

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

2 TBSP Cajun or Blackening Seasoning

1 pkg. Creamy Alfredo Sauce mix (Knorr brand is what I used)

3 pieces Laughing Cow Cheese (from an 8 piece round, I used the original creamy Swiss)

1 cup low-fat milk (I used whole milk, it’s the only thing my family will drink)

4 cups cooked whole wheat spaghetti

Parmesan cheese (for garnish, if desired)

Parsley (for garnish, if desired)

Season chicken breasts with Cajun seasoning and grill or pan fry in non-stick spray.  Set aside.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil and cook the noodles to al dente.  Drain and return to the pot.  (Toss with parmesan cheese if desired.  I didn’t do this step.)

Combine the package of alfredo sauce mix, milk and Laughing Cow wedges in a saucepan.  Bring to a boil, stir for 1 minute and turn heat off.  (DO NOT OVERCOOK.  IT WILL SCORCH!!!) The sauce will thicken as it stands.

Assemble on 4 plates by layering noodles, chicken and sauce.  Top with parsley is desired.

Mange!!!

 

 

Peace, love and Cajun Sunshine!!!!

2 thoughts on “Light Cajun Chicken Alfredo

Leave a Reply

