Soccer Kid

Last Saturday was Tucker’s very first soccer game.  Ever.

When I decided that I wasn’t going to press the issue of wrestling after his adamant protests to participate I asked him what sport he’d like to play.  He said, “Soccer.  I wanna play soccer, Mom.”  And I replied, “Soccer it is.”  I just want my kids to be active in sports.  I want them to have the opportunity to find their niche in athletics and if he wanted to give soccer a try I wasn’t going to say no.

I have to say that these were some of the funniest 45 minutes I’ve had in a long time.  There is TRULY nothing more entertaining than watching 4 and 5 year olds learning the ropes of this game. 

Okay, maybe watching Ella try to do wall push ups is slightly funnier, or watching Tucker do jumping jacks, but that’s a different story.

At this age level there is no score keeping.  The point of the game with these kiddos is to learn the fundamentals, rules, the basics of the foot work and the art of concentration.  This last one proved to be the toughest of all.

These kids had SO much fun, some a little more than others.

Tucker’s coach said he got the award for the wettest uniform…  He liked to dramatically fall on the ground every time he kicked the ball resulting in wet clothes from the still dewy grass.

I was really proud of him.  He hopped right up and went in to play every time his coach asked him too.  He put forth 110% of effort.  And, most important, he had a smile on his face the whole time.  He. Was. Loving. It.

Even though no scores were kept he KNEW that his team didn’t make a single goal.  He was a little bummed about it, but with a pep talk and encouragement for the next time he’s ready to play again this weekend.

Peace, love and goalies.

Leave a Reply

