Fajita Salad and Laughing at One’s Self

Last night was a night that I wanted something easy for supper.  It’s been a busy week and I didn’t want to “think” too much about meal time.

Nachos are a HUGE hit with my family, but NOT something I can indulge in on my new health plan.  Taco meat and tortilla chips are huge no-nos, but I didn’t want to stray too far from the “Mexican theme”.  Taco salad is another big fave for Grady and I so while the taco meat was cooking I thawed out some chicken breasts and came up with a healthier version of the taco salad.

Introducing…the Fajita Salad.

Can you believe this entire HUGE plate LOADED with salad is only 460 calories!!!  That INCLUDES the light sour cream and salsa that I don’t have on there AND the half portion of tortilla chips on the side for crunching over the top!!!!  I even added a little extra meat, five ounces rather than the usual 3 to 4. (I was a hungry girl last night!)

It was SO easy.  While you’re preparing your families taco meat simply saute onions and peppers in another skillet using non-stick spray.  When they’re nice and caramelized re-spray the pan and cook your cubed chicken seasoning it with chili powder, cumin, onion salt, garlic powder and oregano.  Cook until no longer pink. 

(These five seasonings will ALWAYS be found in my cupboard.  They are the foundation of ALL good Mexican food seasoning.  So long as you invest in these five you will NEVER need to buy those overpriced and overly salted seasoning packages again.  Trust me on this one!  Here are my measurements for two pounds of burger…1 heaping tablespoon chili powder, 2 teaspoons cumin, 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 to 1 teaspoon onion salt and 1 teaspoon oregano.  That’s it.  That simple.  Trust me.)

Okay, now that lesson is over, back to the salad.  After you’ve assembled the families nachos and put them in the oven you can make your salad.  I used about 3 cups of iceberg lettuce, about half of the pepper and onion mix (the other half went on the nachos), 4 to 5 ounces chicken, 1/4 cup drained and rinsed black beans, 1/8 cup shredded cheese, 2 tablespoons light sour cream and a pile of salsa.  I never measure the salsa because in my book it’s a freebie.  Then crush about 6 tortilla chips over the top, mix it up and you’re ready to nosh. 

I’m telling you, the peppers and onions make this thing KILLER.  This was a LOT on my plate.  I was stuffed when I finished.

After I got supper on the table Grady was sweet enough to let me slip out and go for my walk/jog.  Yep, I did it again.  This time I did three legs of jogging instead of just two.  The last one hurt like hell, but it was the good hurt.  The whole time as my lungs were burning and my legs felt like they wouldn’t go any further I tried to picture in my mind what it is I want to look like at the end.  That goal drives me.  I’m heaving by the time I reach my “destination”, but I know it’s so worth it.

The last few days didn’t allow for a walk so I told Tucker that we were going to exercise at home.  He was REALLY excited about it.  Monday evening we went out to the back yard and started doing exercises that HE does in gym class.  I’ll tell you something…if you want to get a good calisthenics workout try kindergarten exercises.  My legs were ON FIRE!!!!  I don’t know about you, but it’s been at least 25 years since I’ve done the crab walk.  It might look easy for a five-year-old, but a THIRTY-five-year-old has a little tougher time.  Don’t get me wrong, I was laughing and having a great time with Tucker, but it was certainly a challenge. (And evidently a little embarrassing for my husband who was afraid the neighbor was going to see me…big sigh.)  Tuesday morning my muscles were SCREAMING!  And yes, this was when we were doing jumping jacks and my poor uncoordinated sweet boy just couldn’t get it right.  His momma couldn’t stop laughing.  I don’t know what was a better workout, the jumping jacks or the uncontrollable laughter.  We had so much fun that night that we did it again Tuesday night.  It was priceless.  I certainly paid for it again Wednesday with aching muscles…again! 

So back to last night…I did SO well on my calorie count for the day with the salad that I was able to reward myself with one of these…

A girl’s gotta indulge once in a while!

 

 

Peace, love and crab walks!

Leave a Reply

