Frustration

Image provided by Google Images

I’m going to rant a little bit this morning.

I’m frustrated.

I have been DILIGENT with my calorie count, eating and food diary.  I even put the “bad” stuff on there, like the occasional chocolate or beer.  I don’t want to cheat because the only person I’m cheating is myself.  I’ve been faithfully keeping my calorie count below my daily max with the exception of the occasional days.  On average I’m below.

I’ve been exercising more regularly, at least 3 to 4 times a week if not more.

I’ve had will power and determination like I’ve never had before.

I want to look better and feel better.  I want to be healthy.  I want to be the best version of ME I can be.  I WANT THIS. 

So, you can understand my complete frustration when for the last two days I’ve gotten on the scales and it’s gone UP!!!  Both.  Days.  It’s only a pound and a half total, but….

Seriously? 

I know that muscle mass size to size weighs more than fat.  I DO know that, but with the lower calorie diet and the extra calories burned with the exercise I would think that the scales would still be going down.

Maybe there’s something I’m missing.  Maybe I need to be doing something different that I’m clueless about.  My body is NOT supposed to be stuck at this number.

So, today, I’m frustrated with it.  I’ve been doing this for 50 days, faithfully, and I’ve made progress, but today my esteem is losing a little steam.

 

 

Peace, love and scales.

9 thoughts on “Frustration

  1. Do NOT weigh yourself every day. While you are losing do it only once a week! Pick a day of the week and track your weight that day only, in the morning, naked, before you eat! While you are maintaining you can weigh yourself every day. But doing so while you are losing is inaccurate and will cause these kinds of feelings! It is normal for your weight to fluctuate about 5lbs in one day, which is food and water weight. This is a Weight Watchers rule and it kept me from obsessing and becoming disappointed. You are doing great. Keep at it!

  2. Well Alisha I have been trying for months and have not had much progress. I am pushing 40 so it is just getting harder and harder to lose the weight. Anyway, the scale above in
    the pic says you only weigh 100 lbs so I think you should stop worring about it.LOL!!!!!!!

  3. Do you have any more information that you can share? How many calories are you eating a day? What type of exercise do you do? I skimmed through your last five posts, but I couldn’t tell what your exercise program looks like.

    Weight loss largely comes down to one factor. That’s your metabolism. You can lower your metabolism by:

    1. Never doing resistance exercise (whether that’s calisthenics, dumbbells, resistance bands, anything that makes you have to stop doing it after 8 to 12 repetitions).

    2. Overly restricting calories. My nutrition teacher with a Master’s degree in biochemistry likened your body’s metabolism like this. He said that it largely behaves how you would when you’re driving on the highway. If you have a lot of gas (eat a lot of calories), then you feel free to speed up (your metabolism stays high). If you’re running on empty (don’t eat many calories), then you are more conservative about your speed because you’re worried about running out of gas (your metabolism decreases).

    There are a lot of hormonal factors that go into your metabolism. Other than that, weight loss largely comes down to how much muscle mass you have. Each pound of muscle you gain burns anywhere from 35 – 50 calories a day even without exercise.

    Wow. Now that my novel is over, I want to share a few links with you for further reading:

    1. Metabolic Slowdown – it talks about how decreasing your calories too much can make you get stuck or even gain weight.

    http://leanbodiesconsulting.com/blog/metabolic-slowdown-part-i/

    2. My own article “Can You Be Skinny AND Fat?” – It shows what literally happens to your body composition when you try to lose weight by only restricting calories and not resistance training.

    http://tlbflowllc.com/2012/04/02/can-you-be-skinny-and-fat/

    I’ll be writing a follow-up on that article today. I meant to do it a week ago. Oops. Ha ha.

    Anyway, best of luck to you! And if you need any help, feel free to let me know.

    • I keep my calorie count between 1300 and 1400 each day. My exercise routine is vigorous walking of 2 miles on gravel, half uphill. It takes me about 40 minutes to complete that. I do mild calishtenics randomly throughout the week.

      I completely get everything you said. I know that my calorie intake is not in the starvation mode which would resulting in slowing down my metabolism. If I had to REALLY think about it I would guess that my monthly cycle is the culprit here. Although it hasn’t started, it’s coming soon.

      Thank you for your insight.

  4. I’m a lurker on here but I love your blog. Many of us are sisters on your journey and feel your frustration! I’m a nurse and also have a degree in health education so I know that you are on the right track. Just don’t give that scale that much power! How do you feel? Are your clothes more loose? Just continue to eat right, exercise and play with those gorgeous kids! Good luck – I’ll say a little prayer for encouragement!

Leave a Reply

