Kale Chips, done RIGHT.

So…I was bound and determined to get these kale chips right. 

There was just no way that what I made the other night could possibly be what everyone was raving about.  They just weren’t that great.

I learned my lesson.

Always, always, always follow the recipe the FIRST time you make something and THEN start tweaking.

I know there are a lot of folks out there that don’t salt their food or just don’t like salt.  That’s fine.  I won’t hold it against them. 

I am NOT one of those people, though.  I have always salted my food.  It doesn’t pose a health problem for me (at this point in my life).  I, also, think it’s a VITAL part of properly seasoning your food.  (I know…there are a MILLION people out there who will argue with me about salt.  I say…to each their own.)

With all of that said, I originally followed the non-salt eaters and tried to salt the kale chips after they were baked rather than before.  Now common sense told me that this wasn’t going to work, but I did it anyway.  I had the dumb for a moment.  I apologize.

So, Friday night I came home and tried it again.

Here’s what you’ll need.

1 bunch fresh kale
non-stick cooking spray
Kosher salt
pepper
garlic powder

Wash and throughly dry the kale. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

Remove the kale leaves from the spine. Tear into smaller chip size pieces.

Arrange the leaves on a baking sheet in one layer. Spray liberally with cooking spray. Lightly coat with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Bake for 10 minutes and then flip the kale to the other side.

Bake for five more minutes. Check for crispness. The chips should be crisp and bright green. If they’ve turned dark brown all over they’re overdone and will be bitter.  (There will be some areas that are brownish, don’t worry about that.  You just don’t want them to be brown all over.)

After I made these Friday night I couldn’t get away from the pan. They are so addictive.

I’m really glad I didn’t give up on these. They were worth the extra effort!

Peace, love and salty snacks!

2 thoughts on “Kale Chips, done RIGHT.

Leave a Reply

