Going Green

It’s looking rather….green around our house these days.

The gardens have really taken off.  Yes, I said gardens, as in plural, more than one garden.  We have three to be honest.  Well, technically, four if you count the new patch we made just for cucumbers. (They kind of take over everywhere else…)

My lettuce is going great guns.  It’s DELICIOUS!  Mildy peppery and bright.  If you live near me and want some I will GLADLY share.  Just send me a message.  We love salad, but there’s no way we can consume enough to keep up with what we have.

The onions and radishes are for Grady.

We’ve been plucking blooms off the tomato plants so they can get a little stronger.

These are our beautiful zuchinni mounds.  I.  CAN’T.  WAIT.  FOR.  ZUCHINNI!!!!  It’s among my new favorites.  Right up there with asparagus!

Lovely Peaches and Cream sweet corn.  My soul is singing.  It’ll be July before we can enjoy it.  I’m counting down the days.

This little cutie is okra.  It will grow to be prickly, tree-like and massive.  Okra is kind of like the lettuce.  Once it starts producing it goes NUTS!!

I’ve been working on the flower beds in my yard for several years.  This one in the front has been my biggest challenge.  I was never sure what I wanted to put into it.  On the evening that Grady brought home the beautiful black compost from the ranch I decided these beds needed filled in.  It was exactly what I needed to inspire me.

I filled them with Blue Rush grass, Lavendar, Vinca, Witch’s Fire and Mountain Ice.  I’m in love with these beds now.  They just need a little mulch and they’ll be perfection!!  I think the FRONT porch may be my new favorite perch.

I love gardening.  It’s so soothing.  If you see me sitting on my deck or porch in the early morning hours with a cup of coffee I’m taking it all in, the beauty of everything going green.  There’s no better way to start a day.

 

 

Peace, love and dirt under nails.

Leave a Reply

