Friday Update

It occurred to me that I haven’t really told you much about my weight loss adventure.  Truth be told, there hasn’t been much to tell. 

I’ve been “eating clean” for 85 days now.  Each day the choice to eat well is easier and easier.  I can say no to temptation without difficulty.  Don’t get me wrong, a cheeseburger and fries still smells amazing, but KNOWING how I feel after I eat that is enough to make the healthy choice smell better.  It’s easy to ignore the taunts of people who don’t understand or respect this journey I’m on.  It’s become easy to steer clear of their encouragement of cheating “just because”.  “Oh, you can cheat every now and again and still lose weight,” is what I hear at random.  Maybe you can, but I don’t WANT to cheat.  I want to honor this decision to live a healthier life that I’ve made.  If a treat fits into my daily allowance you bet I’m going to have some, but if it doesn’t work for that day I feel good saying no.

I continue to be on the losing streak.  I’m down 17 pounds so far.  I average about a pound to a pound and a half a week.  (This week that lovely force of nature that women are so blessed to be gifted with put the loss on the big kibosh for a few days.)  Although my goal counter on the side bar says that I only have a few more pounds to go until I reach my goal that isn’t accurate.  In reality, I’d like to lose about 18 more to reach the weight I was before I got pregnant with Tucker.  I think it’s doable and I’m excited for the challenge.

I haven’t been very creative in the cooking department.  Lots of grilled chicken.  Lots of sauted or grilled veggies.  Lots of repeat meals.  Lots of salads.  With the long weekend I’m hoping to have some time to seek out some new recipes.

We did have our very first zucchini out of the garden last night.

I sauted it with some onion and fresh corn. 

DE-LISH!!!!  I could have eaten the entire pan.

I ran into somewhat of a dilemma in the last week or so.  A good dilemma, but a dilemma nonetheless.  Dilemma is a weird word when you say it over and over again.

I’ve gone down about 2 clothing sizes which means that my clothes, especially my pants are REALLY loose.  It’s not just unflattering it’s kind of dangerous to walk around in pants that “could” fall off.  But…I told myself I wasn’t going to buy any “new” clothes until I’d reached my goal weight.  Well…what’s a girl to do when you can’t wear your current clothes, but you don’t want to spend an arm and a leg on “in between” clothes?  A girl goes to the brand new consignment shop in town!!!  I hit the jackpot!  I walked away with 5 pair of pants, 3 of which were brand new, ALL for less than $40!

Problem solved!

I feel good.  I feel good physically.  I feel good mentally.  I feel good spiritually.  This body is a gift to me for a short period of time.  It’s my job to take care of it and make sure it’s a well oiled machine that will continue to run for many, many moons.  I can’t trade it in for a new one so it’s vital to cherish the one I’ve got for as long as I have it.  My energy levels keep going up.  I feel less tired and more energized. 

Life is good.

Peace, love and longevity.

2 thoughts on “Friday Update

  1. Your weight loss mindset is awesome! Thankfully, it’s rubbing off on me. Glad you found the consignment shop for some new clothes. I bet putting away your ‘too big’ clothes is quite rewarding. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

