“Skinny” Broccoli & Cauliflower Salad and SUMMER

What a BEAUTIFUL weekend!

It was a full one, but the GOOD kind of full.

Friday night we went to a graduation celebration for a young lady that has NO business being old enough to graduate from high school!!!  It made me feel REALLY old.  It was an evening of good food and wonderful friends.

On the menu was a salad that, prior to my pregnancy with Ella, I would have turned my nose at.

Broccoli & Cauliflower salad.

O-M-G!!!!  This stuff was out of this world!  I’m fairly certain what I was indulging in was the full fat version so I came home and made the skinny version Saturday to accompany our grilled goodies.

If you’re already a Splenda user then I’m fairly certain all the goods for this dish should be in your pantry and fridge.

Skinny Broccoli & Cauliflower Salad

1 head broccoli, chopped

1 head cauliflower, chopped

4 oz. mild cheddar cheese, diced small (or any cheese of your choice)

1 cup reduced fat mayonnaise (DO NOT USE MIRACLE WHIP!!!!  IT WILL NOT TASTE RIGHT!!!)

1/3 cup Splenda Blend

1/3 cup white vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

Combine the broccoli, cauliflower and cheese in a bowl and set aside.  In a small mixing bowl mix together mayo, Splenda and vinegar.  Taste and make any necessary adjustments.  Dress the veggies and salt and pepper to taste.  Refrigerate for an hour before serving.

**Notes:

I use Splenda Blend (sugar and Splenda together) so the ratio is, very possibly, different when using regular Splenda.  I suggest starting out with less and adding more if needed.  Splenda Blend is a one half to one substitution ratio, Splenda Blend to sugar whereas regular Splenda is a one to one substitution ratio, Splenda to sugar.  The “traditional recipe” is a 3-2-1 recipe, three parts mayo, two parts sugar, and one part vinegar.  Since we’re substituting with the Splenda it’s not going to be exactly the same.  Splenda tends to be slightly sweeter than regular sugar which would mean less is more in this recipe.  I would suggest starting with a quarter cup of Splenda and working your way up to the third cup if you’d like.

How’s that for precision directions?

Ready for the numbers?  This salad makes, roughly, 12 one half cup servings.  Each serving is only 96 calories!!!  That’s made with Splenda Blend!!  If you use regular Splenda it’s even less!!!  So, go ahead and enjoy it, guilt free!!!

Now for some kid pics.

Sunday the kids and I went outside to play mid-morning before it got too hot and before I had to devote some serious time to the sewing machine.

Ella immediately started playing in the dirt.  There’s a crazy magnetic force between her and dirt.  It just sucks her right in and goes straight to her mouth.

She’s been really fascinated with my flowers lately.  She loves to smell them.

And she also loves to check out the worker bees.

These little guys have been hard at with my Lamb’s Ear and Yarrow.  I love watching them collect their gold.

Tucker insisted on wearing his football helmet all weekend.  Playing in the yard…helmet on.  Fishing for bait…helmet on.  Fighting off bad ninja guys…helmet on.

That is unless his sister was “trying” to wear it.  Crazy girl.

I’m SO close to being finished with Ella’s new quilt, my “practice” quilt.  I can’t wait to show you the finished product.  It’s CRAZY fun and cute!!!

I got the top finished for my soon-to-be-here nephew’s baby quilt!!!  This one makes me giggle!!!  I’m in warp speed mode to get this one done in time.  Although my sister has an “idea” of what it’s going to look like I can’t share until it’s done.  There’s a uber fun surprise on the back that I can’t WAIT to show you!!!

What a great weekend.  I got a lot of big things accomplished and feel good about the progress.  Even though Grady had to work we had some good, precious family time.

Now, we’re jumping into the depths of Rodeo Week/Weekend.  This next week is going to be pure insanity for Grady and I until Saturday night around 10 pm when we both can breathe again.  It’s totally worth it though.  GOOD, GOOD, GOOD fun!!!

Wish me luck and rest!

 

Peace, love and checklists!

Leave a Reply

