Golden Opportunities

Tucker is a happy little guy this week.  He’s in bible school each evening.  Almost three hours of fun, friends and JESUS.

Mommy is a happy girl this week, too.  Having Tucker away during supper time means I can make ANYTHING I want for supper because my picky eater isn’t with us.

You can bet that I am taking FULL advantage of this.

Sunday I took a little trip to the lovely land of Pinterest.  It had been a while since I’d last visited.

As my eyes wandered and gazed through all the pins of fashion, crafts, decor, and style I was on the prowl for new recipes.

I hit the jackpot!  A friend of mine had pinned Light Cajun Chicken Pasta.  I vowed this would be on my table within the week.

Photo courtesy of skinnytaste.com

I held to my word.  Last night I made it.  I am even proud to say that I stuck to the recipe.  I made one very minor alteration, I added zuchinni.

I would have never, in a million years, guessed that this was healthy, let alone LIGHT.  It was rich and decadent.  Grady and Ella both loved it, too.

One of the things I loved about this one is that the sky’s the limit on what veggies you can add.  I added squash, but it’d be amazing with asparagus or peas.  The best part….the more veggies you add the bigger the portions get without HUGE calorie increases.  

As much as I love pasta, it’s the chicken and veggies that I wanted more of.  Don’t be tempted to increase the pasta, there really is a large amount.  Bulk it up with more vegetables.  If chicken sounds boring use shrimp instead.  Heck, use BOTH!!!

Bottom line is that this was a great change to my usual line up.  It brought some spunk to my table and smiles to my family.

Go check it out.  You won’t be sorry!!!

P.S.  One last tidbit of advice on this one…. Make sure EVERYTHING is prepped before you start.  It goes REALLY fast.

Mange!!!

 

 

 

Peace, love and cajun sunshine!!!

One thought on “Golden Opportunities

Leave a Reply

