Guaco Pasta

Last night was yet, another night of adventuresome cooking.

Yep, bible school is still underway.  I have ONE MORE day to try something OUTRAGEOUS before my culinary buzz killer rejoins us at the supper table.

Who am I kidding?  I’ve never let that little munchkin’s picky tastebuds keep me from trying something different.  Regardless of the creative food juices flowing around this joint I kinda like that little guy’s mug sitting across the table from me.  I miss him.  I’m ready to have him back eating nothing green and nothing with cheese.  (Big sigh.  Where did he come from?)

Over the weekend my foodie friend, Michele, texted me the world’s EASIEST pasta creation.  I’m going to fake you out.  It looks like pesto…  but it’s not….

I dubbed it… Guaco Pasta.

Original, I know…  Give a girl a break I had to come up with a name quick.  Regardless of the name, this stuff is the bomb!!!!  I’m a HUGE guacamole fan.  I could eat a party size bowl in a matter of minutes.  It’s addictive.  It’s my weakness.  I need help. 

When I heard this recipe I KNEW I had to try it.  Guacamole and pasta… how could that be wrong?

Are you ready for this 5 minute side dish?

Ingredients:

2 ripe avocados

juice of one small lime

2 tbsp chopped cilantro

1/4 c. minced red onion

1-2 tsp. garlic powder

salt to taste

8 oz. thin spaghetti or angel hair pasta (I use whole wheat thin spaghetti.  It’s what I have on hand.)

Bring a pot of water to boil and cook pasta according to package directions. 

While pasta is cooking mash two avocados in a medium mixing bowl until smooth.  Add lime juice, red onion, cilantro and 1 tsp. garlic powder.  Taste and add more garlic powder is desired.  Salt to taste. 

When pasta is finished drain water and toss warm pasta with the avocado mixture. 

Serve warm.

Here’s the skinny.  This makes 4 servings.  327 calories per serving, 8 grams of protein, 8 grams of fat (GOOD FAT) and 46 grams of carbs.

Typically, I stay away from the carbs, but even with a meal that includes this I don’t come close to meeting my daily allowance for carbs so I feel safe indulging.  Add to that the fact that I’m using whole wheat pasta and I know I’m doing my body good.

I paired this pasta with a 5 oz. southwestern spiced grilled chicken breast and my entire meal was only 477 calories.  I was MORE than satisfied and MORE than full.

If you’re in the mood for a little Mexican, a little healthy and a lot of FAST this would be the PERFECT go to meal.

Thanks, Michele!  You’re my hero!!

Peace, love and green goo!!!

Leave a Reply

