Spin Dip Casserole

I came across a recipe online some time ago that fell into my healthy category.  I set it aside waiting for a random day to have all the ingredients to make it.  It had spinach and artichokes in it so I knew Tucker wasn’t going to be a fan.

This past weekend, with my boy on “vacation”, I decided it’d be the perfect time to give it a try.  As I re-read the recipe working up my grocery list I realized that this sounded quite a bit like what we refer to as “Spin Dip” aka Spinach Artichoke Dip.  You know…that heavenly, cheesy, gooey deliciousness that you slather on tortilla chips which then makes your eyes roll to the back of your head because it’s just THAT good.  Yeah, THAT stuff.  This recipe was the CASSEROLE version of it and the uber LIGHT version!  I was VERY excited.

As usual…the next time I make it I’ll make a few alterations, but I’ll tell you those when we’re done concocting the recipe.

Here’s what you need:

1 – 1.5 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breast cooked and cubed

2 cups cooked brown rice (instant or regular)

1 (6 oz. bag) baby spinach

1 can (14 oz.) artichoke hearts, chopped

1/2 cup fat-free Greek yogurt

2 pieces Laughing Cow Light Cheese

1/4 cup minced onion

1/2 cup parmesan cheese, shredded, divided

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

salt and pepper to taste

 

Preheat the oven to 350°.  Cook the rice according to package directions.  In a large bowl, while it’s still hot, combine the rice and spinach.  Mix until the spinach wilts.  Add all the remaining ingredients except 1/4 cup of the parmesan cheese.  Stir well until the Laughing Cow cheese is melted and combined.  Place in a greased 9×13 baking dish.  Cover with remaining parmesan cheese.  Bake for 30 minutes or until hot and bubbly.  Serve immediately.

The numbers: This makes 6 servings.  Each serving is 254 calories, 21 grams of carbs, 5 grams of fat and 33 grams of protein.  These figures are calculated using 1.5 lbs of chicken.

I LOVED this stuff!  Ella LOVED this stuff.  Tucker would not have loved it because it had green stuff in it. <big sigh>  We’re still working on him.  Grady liked it, but said it was a little on the dry side.  I had to agree with him.  This is where I would make my change.  I would actually DOUBLE the Greek yogurt and Laughing Cow cheese ingredients.  Doing this would only add TWENTY more calories to each serving!!!  Can you believe that?!?!  Greek yogurt is the best!

One more little bit of good news. If you live in an area that has Aldi’s discount foods stores you’re in luck. They carry their brand of the Laughing Cow cheese at a fraction of the price of the name brand and it tastes AMAZING!!! They also stock Greek yogurt at a better price. Eating healthfully can be pricey and I am all about saving some dimes while shedding the pounds!!!

So, if you have a hankering for “Spin Dip” give this a try.  I promise you won’t be disappointed.

 

Peace, love and artichoke hearts!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

