Sinking In

My weight loss journey has been incredibly successful.  I’m seeing changes in my physique that I’ve never seen before.  I’m smaller now than I have ever been in my adult life.  I feel healthier than I ever have.  I know that this has been the best personal decision I’ve ever made for myself.

Even though I know all of this and I’m eight months into this transformation I still have a strange, distorted mental picture of myself.  I look at jeans in my new size and think there is NO WAY I fit into those.  I still have the image of my “old self” stuck in my head.  I still think of myself as “the big girl”.  It’s not until I see my reflection or pictures of my new self and almost don’t recognize who it is that I realize the drastic change.  It really throws me for a loop.

Yesterday I put this belt on.  When I bought it about 7 years ago it fit descently.  I could buckle it in the middle section of holes.  Not too big, not too small.

In March, when I was completely fed up with what I’d let my body turn into, I could only buckle it on the second hole.  It was depressing.  I hated realizing how much larger I had gotten. 

This is how far I’ve come…

Now, it’s on the very last hole with plenty of room to groove!!!

It’s the little things like this that help me to actually realize how far I’ve come.  It really puts it into perspective. It makes the continuation of this quest even more joyous!!

 I don’t know if I’ll ever get used to seeing my new self, but I can safely say that I like this version.  I think this is what God’s vision for me has been all along.

Thank you www.myfitnesspal.com for helping me stay on track!!! 

And thank YOU for being so supportive of me and offering up encouraging words.  It’s made this so much easier.  You guys are the best!

 

Peace, love and little celebrations!!!

3 thoughts on “Sinking In

  1. I’m so proud of you!! I am in the same place as you. I don’t see the knew me in the mirror. I had to go buy new clothes, literally nothing fit! Keep up the hard work!

Leave a Reply

