Asparagus Frittata – The Remedy!

Last night we had dinner with friends, Mexican food, margaritas and beer.  It was a great time, but my age is catching up with me.

<Big Sigh>

There’s a reason 20-somethings are the masters at late night outings and NOT the 30-somethings with kids….

I won’t lie.  Coffee and a few ibuprofen were the first call of order for this momma, but my biggest issue has been water retention. 

It’s a BEAST!!!  I’ve been dealing with it for a couple of weeks and have tried everything to remedy it.  I did a little online research into my new favorite veggie, asparagus, and discovered that it’s an EXCELLENT diuretic!  Sure enough, it works!  Earlier this week I grilled a boatload of it and ate half the boatload.  The next morning…water retention GONE.  I ate it in various dishes over the week and have been thoroughly impressed.  It’s become a staple in my veggie drawer.

So, this morning when my feet felt like sausages from the salty Mexican food I knew I needed a good dose of my remedy. 

I whipped up one of the EASIEST egg dishes known to man, the frittata.  There are NO rules to this thing.  You can add as much or as little to it as you like.  The sky’s the limit.  Just use your imagination.  My imagination added asparagus and onion.

DELISH!

Ingredients:

3 whole eggs

3 egg whites

2 tablespoons milk

1/2 cup asparagus cut in 1 inch pieces

1/4 large onion diced

1/2 cup shredded cheese

1/2 tablespoon olive oil

cooking spray

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 350°.  Spray a small oven-safe skillet, liberally, with non-stick cooking spray.  Heat the skillet to medium heat and add the olive oil.  Saute onions and asparagus until the onions are translucent.  While they’re cooking salt slightly.  While the veggies are cooking combine the eggs, egg whites and milk in a bowl and whisk briskly.  When the veggies are ready pour the egg mixture into the hot skillet.  Immediately transfer the skillet to the oven and bake for 10 minutes or until the eggs are set.  Don’t overbake.  When the eggs are set sprinkle with the shredded cheese of your choice.  When the cheese melts slice and eat!

The skinny: Substituting 3 of the eggs with egg whites really brought the calorie count down and didn’t compromise the flavor at all.  In fact…Ella ate a HUGE portion of this and was asking for more.

Servings: 2; 178 calories per serving, 6 grams of carbs, 11 grams of fat and 16 grams of protein.

I was so hungry this morning I could have EASILY eaten the entire pan, but I didn’t.  But…had I…I wouldn’t have felt guilty at all.  The nutritional power in this meal is unbelievable AND it’s going to cure my sausage feet.

If you want a little heartier frittata load up more veggies…try peppers, tomatoes, spinach, even a potato.  These won’t throw your calorie count too off.  Throw some sausage, bacon or ham in and you’ve got a MAN’S meal.  Like I said, use your imagination.  You just can’t go wrong with this one.

Peace, love and CURES!!

Leave a Reply

