And….we’re back.

We’ve been back from Amarillo since Monday.  It was a FANTASTIC trip.  We had a great time.  We were with a great group of friends and family.  To say the least, we were blessed.

The guys didn’t have the rodeo that they would have hoped for, but in the end they finished in the top half, 11th out of 24.  Not bad for a new team.  I say it every year, I’m proud of what they accomplished and the fact that they MADE it to the finals.  Congratulations go out to one of our fellow Kansas Teams, Arndt and Bailey for placing second overall and to Wes Bailey for winning Top Hand.  You guys made Kansas PROUD!

I deemed the trip successful.  Everyone stayed healthy (until we got home), no one was seriously injured (Clint’s hand was a little banged up), and we had a MILLION great laughs.

Now, we’re home.  I got to go back to work for ONE day and since Wednesday I’ve been nursing a sick Miss Monkey back to health.  The stomach bug hit the Kansas clans HARD.  So far twelve travellers from Kansas have battled the bug.  NOT. FUN!  Ella’s been down with it for three days.  I “think” she’s on the mend today, but I also thought that yesterday and she woke up this morning and promptly threw up.

Back to the trip…

I was HORRIBLE about taking pictures this year.  I really had my hands full with Miss Monkey.  While the WRCA Finals are a DEFINITE family affair, taking an incredibly active (almost) two-year-old proved to be an adventure at times.  Needless to say, this momma took full advantage of the hospitality room during performances this year… and most of my pictures were from my phone.

One of the things that I always enjoy about the trip has absolutely NOTHING to do with rodeoing and everything to do with people watching.

The fashion!!  Holy moley!  Texas women can put some things together!  For those who have never travelled to this state and witnessed first hand you must know that their sense of fashion is bold, bright and complete with the motto “If you think you have enough on, add another piece.”

It all starts with the boots.  Ohhhhh…the boots.  The brighter, wilder the colors the better.

Don’t get me wrong, I would LOVE to own a pair of these.  Maybe a little more on the subtle side, but I wouldn’t turn a pair down if offered to me.

The key to the boots is to show them off.  You don’t just wear a cute pair of jeans over the tops of these babies.  Oh, no.  You ROLL your pant legs up several times so as the general public can admire the beauty of the boot.  Or… you wear them with a dress or skirt.  Either way, the boot tops must show.

Then there’s the hair.  Big, bold Texas hair.  I think on an average day that MY hair is big just by the curl default, but it doesn’t hold a candle to what these girls can do.

Okay, so Hillary Swank’s is a little on the drastic side, but it’s not too far off.  I’m always in awe of how much time it must take for these ladies to get ready to go out the door.  I just don’t have the patience.

So, what DO I wear when we go down for this annual trip?  Well, I do get gussied up…Kansas-style, which means subtly bold.

I don’t normally take pictures of my outfits, but at the request of my sister (to see what kind of duds I sport during this shindig) I have documentation.

Night #2.  This picture cracks me up!  Ella was having a major melt down.  This turned out to be routine each night before we had to leave.  Once we left the room all was well with her.

Night #3.  MInus the tantrum throwing two-year-old.  I’m not sure how I feel about the top I chose (a little on the sloppy side), but I loved the bold colors.

Night #4.  You can’t see them, but I’m sporting my boots with the dress and leggings.

I missed the first night because she sent me the text request as we were heading back to the hotel, kids were exhausted and I was ready for pj’s and a bed.  You didn’t miss much.  It was simple.  Black peasant top, skinny jeans, braided belt and brown mid-calf boots.

So, there you have it.  Fashion in Texas and my interpretation, Kansas-style.

I’m glad to be home, the kids are glad to be home, I missed my bed (more than you’ll ever know), I missed my regular food and I missed the ability to go to another room if I felt the need to escape (a hotel room for five days with five people is a little nerve-wracking), BUT…I’d go back tomorrow and do it all again just for the adventure and great company.

So… 2i Feeders… you better be on your game cuz Momma’s ready for Amarillo 2013!!!!

 

 

Peace, love and MAJOR statements!

5 thoughts on “And….we’re back.

  1. Guilty!!! Each year I tell A if this is our last year, that I will be OK. But, this year is different…I fully intend to put the pressure on our boys…I wanna go back!!!!

  2. I love all your outfits and yout Daughter is adorable. We didn’t make it up to Amarillo, sad day. 😦 I love those little trucks and stuff from the Happy Toy Maker. We’re gonna get our little one a pink set for her birthday next year.

Leave a Reply

