15 Minute Black Bean Soup

I came across this recipe on Pinterest a week or so ago and knew, immediately, that this would become one of my go-to meals. I ALWAYS have all of the ingredients for this on hand.

I love soup, I LOVE black beans, I love FAST.

This was the recipe for me.  Of course, I couldn’t follow it to the letter.  I had to make it my own… a little more of this, a little less of that, an addition here and there.

You want to know the main reason why I was drawn to this recipe?  It’s virtually fat-free, low-calorie, and super FILLING.  To top it off, it’s versatile.  You can make yours meatless or bump it up a few notches with some left over chicken breast like I did.

IMG_20121210_190306

Ingredients:

1/2 cup yellow onion, diced fine

1/4 cup red bell pepper, diced fine

4 garlic gloves, minced fine

1/2 tbsp olive oil

2 tsp. cumin

2 tsp. dried oregano

2 pinches kosher salt

2 cans black beans with their juice

2 cup chicken broth

2, 3-oz. grilled or roasted chicken breasts diced small

chopped cilantro

In a medium sauce pan heat olive oil over medium heat.  Combine onion, pepper, garlic, cumin, oregano and salt with oil, mixing well and sauteing until onions and peppers are soft, 3-5 minutes.

Add beans, broth and chicken breast.  Bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer and let cook for about 10 minutes until thickened slightly.  While it cooks mash the beans slightly with a potato masher to increase the thickness.  Adjust salt and pepper to taste.

Serve with a small dollop of light sour cream, a dash of salsa and a heaping tablespoon of cilantro.  If you’re feeling even more indulgent dip a low carb tortilla into this deliciousness.

Here’s the skinny: 

This recipe makes three generous servings at 358 calories each, 54 grams of carbs, 5 grams of fat and 29 grams of protein.  Don’t be afraid of the carbs.  These are GOOD carbs!!!  Beans are SOOO ridiculously healthy.  Not only that, the protein factor in this meal is through the roof, which means it’s going to sustain you until your next meal.  Would you believe me if I told you the beans had more protein in them than the chicken…???

I’m going to fully admit that the holiday season is a tough one on me.  It’s taken some extra will power to be mindful of what goes in my mouth.  I mean really, there are sugar cookies, fudge, toffee and miles and miles and miles of other goodies. 

I’ve taken a small sabbatical from losing any more pounds and have vowed to just maintain my weight throughout the holiday season.  Let’s be real folks, with all the parties, gatherings, cookies, treats and other temptations floating around during the Thanksgiving and Christmas holiday we’d just be setting ourselves up for complete and total failure if we thought we could totally avoid these meals/treats and try to push on and be vigilant to our diets at this time of year.  Even the doctors and nutritionists say to enjoy the holidays, but be mindful.  Enjoy the dinner with family and friends and eat a healthful breakfast and lunch.  Don’t eat the entire plate of cookies, but don’t deprive yourself of a treat.  We’ll feel much less like failures if we work these little morsels into our daily allowance.  So, that’s just what I’ve done…  

I’ve sought out recipes like the one above that are packed full of flavor, goodness and healthfulness that I can enjoy through the week so my weekends of more indulgent foods don’t wreck my accomplishments.  With a little planning I know I can get through this season and still be SUCCESSFUL!!!   

Enjoy this one, my friends.  It’s even been cowboy approved!

Peace, love and the bean queen!!!

Leave a Reply

