Peas and Pasta

Have I mentioned lately how much I LOVE Pinterest.

Just kind of obsessed.

It has been my BIGGEST resource for clean eating recipes!!!

My recent favorite find is a little gem called Peas and Pasta.  Here’s the funny thing.  I KNOW I found the recipe on Pinterest, but I can’t find it ANYWHERE on the site now.  Thank goodness it’s simple enough that I can remember everything and share it with you!

I’ve been sharing this recipe (and the picture) with so many of my friends that I feel the need to pass along the love!

If you love pasta, if you love peas and if you love time-saving you will LOVE this one.

peas and pasta

Ready?

Here we go.

This is for one serving:  (I double it and have lunch the next day)

2 oz. whole grain thin spaghetti (or pasta of choice) cooked al dente

2 tsp. olive oil

2 cloves garlic minced

½ tsp. crushed red pepper

½ c. frozen peas

1 tbsp. parmesan cheese

While pasta is cooking heat oil over medium heat in skillet.  Cook garlic and red pepper over medium heat until slightly translucent.  Watch to make sure it doesn’t burn.  Add peas and cook until heated through.  Salt and pepper.  Add cooked pasta and toss.  Top with cheese and eat.

On occasion, I’ve add a TON of other veggies. (onion, bell pepper, asparagus, peas, zucchini and carrots.  Basically, whatever I might have in the fridge.) I used the same amount of oil and pasta.  You just have to cook the veggies a little longer to get them to the right softness.  This made the whole meal go a lot further without adding a million calories and it was really awesome!  Recently, I added chopped up shrimp.  I added it when I added the peas and it tasted PERFECT!!!  If you like heat, definitely add the red pepper.  I was out the first few times I made it, but added it this last time and it sent it OVER THE EDGE!!!!  I can’t tell you enough how GOOD this meal is!!!

Helpful hint: When I measure my pasta I put a little bowl on my scales, zero them out and then just break the pasta into the bowl until I get the right measurement.

The skinny: One serving (for the peas only version) is 360 calories, 51 grams of carbs, 13 grams of fat and 13 grams of protein.  Adding the shrimp only added 45 calories.

This has been my “go to” meal SOOO many times in the past few weeks.  With all of the hustle and bustle, here and there, and crazy HEAVY holiday food all around me, this meal makes me feel good.  It’s so filling, refreshing, light and SOOO guilt free.

Give it a try.

You’ll love it.

I promise!

Peace, love and peas!

One thought on “Peas and Pasta

Leave a Reply

